jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:27 pm

brooc wrote:I did see some problems with boblight working in this way though - a pretty big delay...
So I'll need to use Raspbmc and Speedy's version for now or wait/hope for OpenELEC to implement a better version of the boblight plugin?

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:31 pm

The boblight plugin was developed and is maintained by bobob1on1 from the XBMC team...
He wasn't too responsive with regards to supporting his development so I wouldn't count on it, but as I've said there is another plugin in development...

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:08 pm

Great, looking forward to it :)

Knapster
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:51 pm

Color calibration: blue is not blue "rgb 0040FF"

Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:07 pm

Hi there and thx to all making boblight possible!

After playing around with the color calibration for a while, i recognized that the LED-Stripes "blue" isn't the same like the "blue" of my TV. Comparing a clear blue [0000FF] image on my TV and the LED-Stripes setted with boblight-constant to [0040FF] gave me a match.
So i thought setting the "rgb" value in boblight.conf section [color] for blue to 0040FF would compensate this disparity. But with this configuration it doesn't work.

So could someone tell me please if this is normal behavior and i was misunderstanding the rgb config setting, or should it work like i think and it's not working on the PI with Rasbmc?
Or is there another possibility to compensate the color difference?

Thanks in advance, Knapster!

User avatar
nadnerb
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 11:22 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:34 pm

You can try changing the 'adjust' and 'gamma' values

Knapster
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:11 pm

THX for your reply.
But with adjust and gamma alone i could not compansate the difference of the blue hue.

BerryPicker
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: The East of England

Re: Color calibration: blue is not blue "rgb 0040FF"

Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:28 pm

Knapster wrote:So i thought setting the "rgb" value in boblight.conf section [color] for blue to 0040FF would compensate this disparity.
If you are using the Pi together with an Arduino to drive your LEDs, you could modify the Arduino fast SPI sketch (LEDstream.pde) to perform the colour mixing you require.

Knapster
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:07 pm

No, i'm using a LED Stripe directly on the Pi's SPI.
I achieved a good adjustment now with tweaking my TV's color scheme.
But THX for your Tip!

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:49 pm

Hi everyone,
A new firmware was released today allowing to capture only the video layer without the subtitles (Thanks Dom!!!).
I released a new version of boblight-dispmanx to support this.
In order to use this you need to:
1. update firmware on Pi (rpi-update) or download the new firmware files and place them on the sdcard.
2. Download my new version from: https://github.com/brooc/boblight-rpi/tree/master/src

NietGiftig
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 5:20 am

brooc wrote:Hi everyone,
A new firmware was released today allowing to capture only the video layer without the subtitles (Thanks Dom!!!).
Thanks, this is good news.
XBMC with Boblight is getting better all the time. :D

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:32 pm

Also the lights will not be lit for the GUI, if this is important to anyone I can create a flag for this to be passed and have the lights working for the GUI as well...

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:58 pm

So, I've got a strip of WS2801 LEDs working on OpenElec with boblightd and boblight-dispmanx.

boblight-constant works as expected and so does boblight-dispmanx. After a while it just seems to stop working, LEDs freeze/don't update or react extremely slowly, or pause then have a mind of their own, kind of "catching up" with what happened on screen previously.

Any ideas? Maybe a setting needs tweaking?

Code: Select all

[global]
interface 127.0.0.1
port      19333

[device]
name            Ambilight
type            ws2801
output          /dev/spidev0.0
channels        192
interval        20000
rate            115200
debug           off
delayafteropen	1000000
boblight-dispmanx is started in autostart.sh with default settings.

Thanks!

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:02 pm

Why don't you try using -i 0.2 or something a bit higher see it that helps.
The default is 0.1 which is a pretty rapid screen capture rate and color change.

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:56 pm

Wow, thanks! I think you hit the nail on the head. CPU usage went from between 20-30% to 5-8% lowering it to 0.4. It definitely seems to be when the Pi is busy doing other things (in this case, I think it may have been caching photos/thumbnails).

Is it worth tweaking any other settings like speed and priority? What would you recommend?

Thanks for your help!

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:12 pm

You already changed the speed and the priority is an internal parameter for deciding what process gets to control the lights, so that won't do anything for you.
I don't think there is any other parameter that needs changing as long as it's working as you want it to...

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:25 pm

Thanks brooc, finally got it working properly now. I went with 0.2 as 0.4 was a little jerky to update. 0.2 seems to be a good compromise between CPU usage and refresh rate. It's using around 15-17% instead of 25-30%. I guess that's the best I can do until OpenELEC optimise stuff.

tehnatural
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:08 pm

brooc wrote:Also the lights will not be lit for the GUI, if this is important to anyone I can create a flag for this to be passed and have the lights working for the GUI as well...
I wouldn't mind you doing this. I liked having the lights on with GUI - it makes scrolling through my media collection a little more appealing when the lights change to match the fanart. And since it eats the same amount of resources in the GUI either way as its constantly running in the background we might as well have them on.

User avatar
ukscone
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:51 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Boblight possible?

Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:36 am

was so tempted to lock this thread without posting as it had 666 replies. we'll i've ruined that now so i'll let the thread continue :)

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:09 pm

+1 for lights on GUI. When I watch normal TV the lights glow matching my XBMC background. Plus it looks good when showing fan art/photos.

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:35 pm

I added an option for setting the lights in GUI.
use "-b on/off" for lights on or off.

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:34 pm

Excellent!

If my boblight-dispmanx interval is set to 0.2, what should my boblight.conf interval be?

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:35 pm

Any news on getting boblight-dispmanx to stop shutting down CEC?

brooc
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: Boblight possible?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:40 pm

This is something the Dom would need to answer...
It could be the call to deinit of bcmhost but I am not sure...
Don't think it's dispmanx bug but something else...

jamieburchell
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 9:03 pm

Ah ok. I have setup a button on my CEC remote to kill boblight-dispmanx when I don't want the lights working but of course it kills CEC too. I have for the moment changed the priority of boblight-dispmanx and used boblight-constant to turn them off. Not ideal because the other processes are still using CPU.

Wired Life
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:41 am

Re: Boblight possible?

Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:45 am

is it possible to add a 3d mode, maybe auto detect like this?
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?pid=1427587
would be very nice

Return to “General discussion”