Jeffreytooker

Re: SD/USB Lost Storage Space

Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:22 pm

I downloaded Debian6-17-02-2012.zip.  Unzipped, and used Win32diskimager to burn to a 4G USB stick and after that to an 8G SD.  Neither would boot from BIOS.  Looked at properties on both.  Usable total memory of both devices was down to 74G. This included the Debian files. The Debian zip original was about 800G and the unzipped file was about 1.6G.  I tried Ubuntu to re format USB.  It said device was busy and could not re format.  I would like to know how to wipe the USB and FAT32 re format it back to 4G.  If that works then I will try to re format the SD.  I am not very tech savvy, so simpler is better.

When this is fixed I will probably go to Ubuntu and try again.

Thx.

Jeffrey

Beanz

Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:36 pm

I'm new to all this too but one option may be to watch the youtube vid below showing how to set up your SD with a program called dd.exe and at about 10mins in it shows how to properly wipe the SD ready for a new os if needed. HTH.

Also the same guy has a video showing how after adding your files to free up the full space on your SD card

Montala

Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:55 pm

This was also covered by Eben in his 'webinar' yesterday, when he described the process involved, and also spoke about the required config.txt file.

(For those who missed it  a 'hacked' version of the slides can be downloaded from http://stevenicklin.com/images/webex.zip - thanks to SN.)

Jeffreytooker

Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:14 pm

Thanks to both.  Working my way through.

Jeffrey

john_wage

Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:55 pm

Uhm.. I think the most common issue with "lost" storage after using those kind of flash burners is that it makes the main partition of the memory the exact size needed for the OS install and the rest is unallocated.

If you use Windows you should use "diskpart" from command line to delete the partition and make a new one with max size.