offshore.kiwi@gmail.com

Re: Virtual Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:55 pm

Guys. You have the whole world champing at the bit for a slice of your Pi.

In the final dash for the line there were a couple of unexpected judder bars (sorry; sleeping policemen for those not of antipodean extraction). No panic - it happens. Good old part sourcing/qualifying & compliance issues (welcome to the world of productisation - brutal isn't it?!). I work as a development lead for a network box manufacturer - so believe me - I feel your pain. Be thankful you're not producing an RF product

So - here I am waiting for my Pi. Farnell (I live in continental Europe) gave me a shipping date of end-of-March when I finally managed to place my order. Since then they've gone decidedly silent and last time I checked my expected shipping date was week 19 and counting.

So given the amazing over subscription (and minor launch niggles) - how about making a downloadable (in some form) virtual Raspberry Pi available to all your loyal fans? You certainly have the smarts for it, and surely have a vested interest in maintaining interest until the real metal ships.

What say you?

SN

Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:13 pm

We say search for qemu and debian image and find your prayers answered

I am not speaking for the rpf here by the way
Steve N – binatone mk4->intellivision->zx81->spectrum->cbm64->cpc6128->520stfm->pc->raspi ?

Jim Manley
Location: SillyCon Valley, California, and Powell, Wyoming, USA, plus The Universe

Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:16 am

Here's a more specific answer, since just searching for qemu and debian will return a lot of extraneous old cruft:

A matrix of the Linux ARM distributions now available for the R-Pi and in development:

http://elinux.org/RPi_Distributions

Running R-Pi on Debian via an ARM emulator in QEmu within VirtualBox on Windows:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/for.....38;ret=all

Running R-Pi on Fedora 14 via an ARM emulator in QEmu:

http://www.cnx-software.com/20.....x-in-qemu/