prodata

Re: Time to give up on RS?

Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:11 am

I'm in the camp who 'registered an interest' with RS in the 0610 - 0630 time frame, apparently successfully, but who has received no emails at all. (No, I don't run a spam filter and so don't have a spam mailbox into which any emails might have been diverted.) And I know personally of one other person in the same boat. Not having heard anything at all from RS in the interim, I guess it's time to give up all hope and assume that there's a whole batch of RS registrations that simply got lost because of the website overload.

What's frustrating about this is that I understood that this initial batch of units was primarily aimed at developers so that some software and applications could be developed prior to the more general autumn launch. But as a developer myself I'm going to be potentially 2-3 months behind some of my competitors by the time that we actually get our hands on a Pi. It starts to look questionable about whether it's now worth putting any effort at all into Pi-related development projects.

rurwin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:23 am

There have now been two mass-emails. If you did not get either then I think you have to conclude that you are not on the list... or that if you are, you wouldn't receive the  email that invited you to order.

chickey

Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:33 am

I'd agree if you havn't had anything by now then your registration probably didn't successfully go through

I wasn't sure if my personal address had gotten through so had re-registered with my works email just incase and i got emails to both addresses, i'm only buying one though before anyone says i'm skirting around the one per order limit

ArborealSeer

Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:36 am

I understand it must be frustrating.

But a serious question, there are lots of posts where people say they *need* pi in their life, for their project as if their life depended upon it.