catman232

Re: Will the Raspberry Pi run Java?

Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:57 am

Hello, I am new to these forums...

I am a Java developer and I was wondering if the Raspberry Pi can run Java.

abishur

Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:11 am

It shouldn't have a problem doing so. We know that Java can run on an ARM processor with no problem already (it is running on most of our cell phones), the only real question is does whichever OS you go with already have a JAVA package for you to install off of? But even then, the worst case scenario is you have to compile the source code yourself
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

Cafe

Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:55 pm

Everything abishur said above plus potentially insufficient amount of memory depending on the Raspi model and the application needs.

abishur

Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:28 pm

Very true! There's a world of difference between Java itself being able to run, and any given Java application being able to run!

liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator

Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:39 pm

I've spoken to Eben about this - at the moment we *expect* that Java will run, but obviously this is something we need to nail down. I should have an answer for you in a couple of weeks' time.
Director of Communications, Raspberry Pi

gerits

Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:04 pm

I think a language like c/c++ is better for this kind of devices. In java you can't control the memory as well as in c++, and c++ doesn't need a virtual environment to run...

catman232

Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:42 pm

Quote from abishur on August 10, 2011, 03:11
It shouldn't have a problem doing so. We know that Java can run on an ARM processor with no problem already (it is running on most of our cell phones), the only real question is does whichever OS you go with already have a JAVA package for you to install off of? But even then, the worst case scenario is you have to compile the source code yourself

Thanks ;)

benjamin.balet

Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:54 pm