webmasterpdx

Re: I think the market has been grossly underestimated....

Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:54 pm

Hi all, I'm an Engineer with 30 years experience (hardware and software). I see a lot of commotion being made over education, and I do understand that this was the goal of the whole project in the first place. I think that is wonderful, but the Raspberry Pi has far further reaching significance. Because of the selflessness of the foundation, a wonderful thing is about to happen. The only reason the selling price of these boards is going to be $35 apiece is because of the non-profit nature of this project.

However, I believe it may translate and force competitiveness to bring the price of SBC's down as well as laptops, tablets, etc, down. The result is that certain non-cost effective applications will now become cost effective.

There are literally millions of products based on a small SBC, whether custom or bought, it usually costs around $100-$150 to get a linux capable SBC. The raspberry pi brings this to $35 (I'm choosing the B product as this is the one with networking and multiple USB).

I'm hoping the foundation doesn't close it's doors to orders from businesses, as this could truely revolutionize the planet.

I hope that the foundation realizes that once they remove the single order limit, they might get orders of the sizes of 4000 boards per month from many companies, to embed the raspberry pi inside other products.

They also have inspired other products like the Cotton Candy, Rhombus (using the allwinner) and lowered the prices of products like the Roku to $50.

I think I can say that the Raspberry pi will be as influential as the PC was to ubiquitous computing and will be a part of history making.