Page 2 of 2

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:20 am
by thsBavR10
It seems that Windows is generally not able to recognize more than one partition on a SD card (removeable media).
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 29&t=18581
Win32DiskImager writes raw data, like 'dd' in Linux.

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
by timmoore46
The Kingston 16GB car was even worse that the ones I normally use.

So shrinking the partition is needed. If only 'Partition Magic' still existed and could cope with Linux Partitions ! *LOL*

Tim

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:20 pm
by thsBavR10
Do you know "Mini tool partition wizard"?
http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-par ... nager.html
It's free.

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:37 pm
by LemmeFatale
timmoore46 wrote:The Kingston 16GB car was even worse that the ones I normally use.
You're likely to find that even two Kingston cards that are ostensibly the same, aren't.

Kingston (as with a great many brands) doesn't manufacture what goes into their cards like, say, SanDisk does, so two seemingly identical Kingston specimens are probably completely different internally, leading to the same result as you've already experienced.

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:07 am
by rfi
I've been having good results with the 'Paragon Backup & Recovery' tool (free version) for cloning Raspbian images in Windows. It's pretty fast, creates compressed image files, and deals with the problem of different cards being different sizes.

Re: Cloning a 16GB Class 10 SD card

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:01 am
by gosciak
LemmeFatale wrote:
timmoore46 wrote:The Kingston 16GB car was even worse that the ones I normally use.
You're likely to find that even two Kingston cards that are ostensibly the same, aren't.
I've recently had the same problem with Lexar Patriot 32GB SDHC. Darn!