AltumVidetur
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:21 am

Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:24 am

Whenever I try to load OpenArena from the Pi Store, it reboots, but does not load OpenArena. Furthermore, the command "openarena" is not recognized in bash. Does anyone have a clue how this might be fixed?

Pankoi
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:59 pm

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:29 am

Hi there,

When your Pi reboots and you're at the login prompt, if you press Alt+F8, does it show any errors? Pressing Alt+F1 will let you get back to the login prompt from there. :)

~Richard Williams
The Pi Store: the home of games, apps, tutorials and other content for Raspberry Pi - store.raspberrypi.com
Want to hear about new Pi Store content? Follow @PiStoreReleases on Twitter.

User avatar
Davespice
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1662
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact: Twitter

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:46 am

AltumVidetur wrote:Whenever I try to load OpenArena from the Pi Store, it reboots, but does not load OpenArena. Furthermore, the command "openarena" is not recognized in bash. Does anyone have a clue how this might be fixed?
Can you try the procedure here?
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 54#p271054

AltumVidetur
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:21 am

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:02 pm

Pankoi wrote:Hi there,

When your Pi reboots and you're at the login prompt, if you press Alt+F8, does it show any errors? Pressing Alt+F1 will let you get back to the login prompt from there. :)

~Richard Williams
It says "failed to open vchiq instance".

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5268
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:10 pm

AltumVidetur wrote:It says "failed to open vchiq instance".
Sounds like firmware is inconsistent. Try:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
if that doesn't work then try rpi-update (https://github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-update)

AltumVidetur
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:21 am

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:32 pm

dom wrote:
AltumVidetur wrote:It says "failed to open vchiq instance".
Sounds like firmware is inconsistent. Try:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
if that doesn't work then try rpi-update (https://github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-update)
Neither of those worked, it returns the same error message.

User avatar
DrPiD
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:44 am
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:23 am

Check out the troubleshooting section on this page, it addresses that probably specifically.
Community Manager - IndieCity

AltumVidetur
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:21 am

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:05 pm

DrPiD wrote:Check out the troubleshooting section on this page, it addresses that probably specifically.
Indeed it does! I followed the recommended solution and now the application generates a different, lengthier error message informing me of the following:
  • I should check that my Q3 executable is in the correct place and that every file in the baseq3 directory is present and readable
  • It couldn't execute q3config.cfg.
  • It couldn't read q3history.
  • My network rate is too slow for VoIP. (Not that I care - I don't even have a mic.)
  • It was unable to open the mouse
  • It could not load OpenGL subsystem.
  • Other messages which I couldn't read due to them scrolling off of the screen.

User avatar
mrpi64
Posts: 931
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:04 pm

i have heard that openarena is virus ridden with viruses from latvia- dunno if its true or not!
I'm happy to help.
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=51794 - List of games that work on the Pi.

User avatar
DrPiD
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:44 am
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:15 pm

mrpi64 wrote:i have heard that openarena is virus ridden with viruses from latvia- dunno if its true or not!
No, this is not true.

All content is checked by a moderation team at the Raspberry Pi Foundation before it goes live on the site, and if you look on the game page for Open Arena there have been no complaints or issues of this nature.
Community Manager - IndieCity

User avatar
QBall1977
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot load OpenArena

Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:56 pm

Sounds like a bad install, I had this with Quake 3. I did a complete build again, although did you try this???

sudo usermod -a -G video [your_username]

Currently I can't run Openarea, I just get Err - wrong bpp: 24
____________________________________________
Looking for where to start - try Kernel Panic - http://goo.gl/EEQ5J

Return to “General discussion”