ElectroPulse

Re: Distro-Building (Kiosk OS) - Help?

Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:21 pm

Hello, all!

I work as a student worker in the IT department at a nursing home. I showed my boss the Raspberry Pi, and he seems quite interested. We have been thinking about some different potential applicatications for them, such as using them for inservice computers, timeclock computers, and replacements for Thinclients (remote desktop computers that connect into the server to do work). So… the only problem is that neither of us have very much experience with Linux (I did manage to set up a Linux Kiosk OS LiveCD, but that was using a pre-built Slax distro, and editing some files in it).

Anyway, we figure that if we could figure it out, these $35 computers would make great, low-cost, low-energy computer replacements!

Alright, down to my question: Do any of you have recommendations for some good Linux how-to guides for putting together Linux distros? I am pretty much a complete beginner, and I would like to learn much more about linux (a lot cheaper than windows, and a lot lighter on system resources too ). From what I have gathered, it is basically a process of pulling different pieces of the OS from different repositories, but I am completely at a loss of where to start, what different parts of the OS does, and really everything else about Linux.

So what I mean by a Kiosk OS, I am meaning an OS that doesn't start up to a login page or a desktop… It just starts up to a pre-defined webpage, and does not allow users to navigate anywhere other than where links on the page allow them to go (so I'd need to find a browser that doesn't have the menus along the top, or else find a plugin that disables them). If any of you have had experience with doing this, your wisdom is welcome!