idb

Connecting Ethernet disconnects WiFi?

Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:55 pm

When I connect or disconnect the ethernet wire, my ssh connection to the Pi via WiFi goes down.

Sure would like to understand why it happens, and find a way to workaround it.

Any thoughts, or insights would be appreciated...

TIA

jhs

Re: Connecting Ethernet disconnects WiFi?

Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:56 am

I'm quite new to the RPi, but I had a similar problem.

Turned out that if the amps drawn by the Pi go above a certain point (related to power supply A rating, perhaps) then things related to USB/Ethernet go a bit whacky. I think, from other posts on here, that there is a bit of an undocumented feature relating to how some devices plugged into the USB cause the ethernet to drop.

So, you could get a 1.5A power supply and see if that helps, or run some USB devices on a powered hub? Or perhaps just remove everything you can from the USB (run headless through SSH or VNC?) and see if that helps?

idb

Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:13 pm

Thanks, I appreciate the reply.

I don't think that the issue is related to power. Even with the Pi headless (connected via SSH), networking restarts everytime the ethernet cable is plugged or unplugged. Once things are stable everything works well.

Why does this happen?

TIA

efflandt

Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:02 pm

While hot plugging WiFi or other devices into Pi USB ports can draw a surge of power that can cause it to spontaneously reboot, that is not the issue here.

Basically Linux (or Windows likewise) figures that ethernet is faster and more reliable than wireless, so if both ethernet and wireless are set to connect automatically and get automatic (dhcp) IP, it automatically switches to ethernet if that is active, and if there is no ethernet, it automatically switches to wireless (assuming that exists).