Gingerbread Man

Water tank level monitoring. Skill level required?

Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:23 pm

Hi all.

I live on a rural property in Australia that utilises water tanks to provide the house water. I'm intrigued by automation and data, and being a plumber by trade, the plumbing naturally takes my interest. I wanted a way to monitor the water tank levels (we have two identical tanks, possibly a third in the future, but they're all connected together so I can just double or multiply the contents of one tank by what I have.
A while back I bought an off the shell solution (something like this - https://www.mydeal.com.au/new-ultrasoni ... JUQAvD_BwE) and it turned out to be a dud and never really worked. Anyhow, the idea of a monitor and display or an app/ webpage seems like what I'm after. Saves me going out and climbing a ladder to peer down into the water tanks!

Is the Raspberry Pi the solution for me? I've never used one or even laid my hands on one but Googling around suggests that it could be. There seem to be a few tutorials around for other projects, not all using the Pi mind.

Ideally:
Powered by a long lasting battery or best solution - solar powered for a hands off, maintenance free life. It'll be on top of a tank so in the sun, but a pain, although not impossible to get to.

The tanks are only a stones throw from the house, so should be able to use the house Wifi to broadcast.

Nice to be able to have a webpage/ app or similar that can be loaded up and display a % of how much water I have in the tank.

I do have another tank down in the garden (~50m from the house) which is soon to be plumbed in and used to feed animal troughs/ garden beds. Not sure if that would be too far away, but if I could replicate what I end up with on the household tanks down there and then to show up as a seperate tank. That would be spot on.