tobyayre

RPi4/4GB Freezes Frequently PLEASE help...

Mon Mar 02, 2020 12:49 am

I have 4 RPi4/4GB... I have done a fresh install of the NOOBs distro, and only run update & upgrade. No overclocking, no extra software, nothing. Plain vanilla install.

Every minute or so my pi will freeze for about 5 seconds (the only thing that seems to work is moving the mouse, clicking will not work, scrolling Chrome will not work, typing will not work). Then after 5+ seconds it will just continue as if nothing happened. So, OK, somehow I damaged a Pi, I will switch to a different one (I have 4 anyway), same thing, every minute or so, hang, then resume... with clean installs. Only common elements are power supply, monitor, mouse, and keyboard... but those haven't changed since it worked great. Did actually try a different power supply, but same thing.

A month ago, everything was fine, and I don't remember exactly when it started. But I do know that I am not a newbie (I have done this stuff for 40+ years) and this one is about to bring me to tears. One day it just started.

Does anyone have a brilliant suggestion of what is possibly wrong that is causing this to happen?

Thank you in advance

Botspot

Re: RPi4/4GB Freezes Frequently PLEASE help...

Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:45 pm

Strange. Does this occur regardless of what you're running on the Pi4? On your taskbar (panel) add "resource monitors". Ensure it shows you both the RAM usage and the CPU usage.
See if the freezing happens only when the RAM is maxed out, or if it happens when the CPU is maxed out.

You may also want to flash Raspbian directly to your SD card instead of using buggy NOOBS.
This is a good tutorial showing how to use the balenaEtcher program.
Want to make your own Raspbian image?
  • Hard way: Mess with confusing terminal commands.
  • Easy way: Let Pi-Power-Tools do it all for you!