Jscoyne2

What would it take? Vehicle HVAC controls

Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:41 pm

Hey all. I don't know anything about Pi's or programming for that matter but i have a question about the viability of an idea.

I am a big mobile audio enthusiast and im looking into integrating a tablet as both my stereo headunit and hvac control unit. Doing the stereo part is easy and im a pro at that but the hvac is a lot trickier. Many cars have something like a 44pin connector that plugs directly into the hvac control unit and its the entire brain.

I'd assume the HVAC controls would just be like anything else in the car. Either 12volt on or off, or a variable voltage sensor.

Ie:
3 volts cold air
3.4 volts warm air
3.7 volts. Hot air

It would take some testing to verify that but if thats the case. How difficult would it be to have an app on the tablet control the Hvac?

It may be possible to send a specific voltage out of a tablet through some kind of OTG cable but i was thinking more on the grounds of having an app connect via Bluetooth to a hidden Pi and have the PI do send out the correct voltages to the correct wires.

I know im asking a lot here. I'd have to learn to code both for an app as well as a PI. Plus figure out the wiring but i thought I'd ask if anyone sees any large red flags.

Thanks for your time.

topguy

Re: What would it take?

Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:28 pm

I'd assume the HVAC controls would just be like anything else in the car. Either 12volt on or off, or a variable voltage sensor.
I know nothing about cars or their HVAC but this sounds like a rather big assumption.

The Pi don't have Analog controllable outputs, only digital 3.3V inputs/outputs so you would need more electronics regardless.

pfletch101

Re: What would it take? Vehicle HVAC controls

Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:03 pm

Jscoyne2 wrote: