Mayday

Vintage radio tuner

Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:48 pm

So I'm kinda new to this but I want to refurbish on old style radio with the dial tuner for the radio.
Question is there a way to connect it to a pi? I mean with volumio and have the original tuner used to choose the station?

Like I said I'm new to using a pi. So what I'm asking might sound right out to lunch.

Right now I have a rpi4 4gb and a hifiberry dac+pro

Basically I want to rebuild an old radio cassette player and keep everything functioning as it normally would but make it possible to play digital files and bluetooth.

Thanks in advance

Heater

Re: Vintage radio tuner

Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:04 pm

How old is this thing? Is it working on medium wave or FM band or what?

One way people do this kind of thing is to build a low power transmitter that transmits an analog signal from a computer which the radio can receive and play as normal. No changes to the radio itself required.

Heck, you can just but such a transmitter for few dollars: https://www.amazon.com/ARKON-SF150C-Com ... B0002471NS
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

rpiMike

Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:19 pm

You could use an encoder in place of the tuner dial to recognise clockwise/anti clockwise turns.

https://thepihut.com/products/keyes-rot ... der-module

Haven't used volumio, not sure what that can accept.

Mayday

Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:23 pm

rpiMike wrote:
You could use an encoder in place of the tuner dial to recognise clockwise/anti clockwise turns.

I like the encoder idea. But would the station I'm tuning correspond with the one shown on the original dial display.
Like if dial display shows 88.7 would tuner be playing 88.7? Or would that just take some tuning to make them match up?

PiGraham

Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:50 pm

Mayday wrote:
rpiMike wrote:

I like the encoder idea. But would the station I'm tuning correspond with the one shown on the original dial display.