bluelion7

Raspberry pi 3 A+. Operating System difficulties

Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:38 pm

Hi . I am using a Raspberry pi 3 A+. I installed the latest version of Noobs and also used Sd formatting card. It downloaded the system on to the pi. The card is 16 GB card and is not an official raspberry Pi card. It did not come with a card. Problem is the connection to Chromium is slow and it keeps closing down ,asks or passwords and log in etc. I transferred the sd card into a Raspbery Pi 3 B and it worked fine. I can't understand, is Noobs too big for the A+ and if so what should I use instead. Please help as I am new to this and I want to get up and running. Thanks

HawaiianPi

Re: Raspberry pi 3 A+. Operating System difficulties

Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:31 pm

bluelion7 wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:38 pm
Hi . I am using a Raspberry pi 3 A+. I installed the latest version of Noobs and also used Sd formatting card. It downloaded the system on to the pi.
NOOBS isn't an OS, it's an OS installer. So what operating system did you install?

The card is 16 GB card and is not an official raspberry Pi card. It did not come with a card. Problem is the connection to Chromium is slow and it keeps closing down ,asks or passwords and log in etc. I transferred the sd card into a Raspbery Pi 3 B and it worked fine.
The 3A+ has half the RAM of the 3B(+) and Chromium can use a lot of RAM, depending on the websites you visit and number of tabs open. The Pi3 in general is not a great computer for web browsing, and the 3A even less so due to the limited RAM. If you try to open more than 3 tabs you can run into trouble even with the 3B+ (again, depending on the web site, some are more RAM hungry than others).

Not sure what passwords it would ask for (it shouldn't). What else did you install?

I can't understand, is Noobs too big for the A+ and if so what should I use instead. Please help as I am new to this and I want to get up and running. Thanks