macgomes

How can i fix settings of over-scan on PI4

Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:12 am

spam links discovered, spammer banned, posts edited/removed
Last edited by macgomes on Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: How can i fix settings of over-scan on PI4

Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:38 pm

macgomes wrote: Hello everyone,,,
I have a Philips LCD TV that I am using the PI4 on, and it keeps on over-scanning. I tried many outdated solutions such as the config.txt, and PI4 screen configuration, But nothing is working. I know you are smart, so can you please help me.
I am new to the PI community, so please be more clear with your solutions,
thank you!
Currently** (unless things have changed very recently) overscan/underscan settings in config.txt are not (cannot yet) be "passed through" to the DRM VC4 V3D driver so the quickest way to enable such is to disable that driver - see this section of config.txtr:

Code: Select all

[pi4]
# Enable DRM VC4 V3D driver on top of the dispmanx display stack
# dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d
max_framebuffers=2
Trev.
** AIUI it's work in progress w.r.t. how Buster handles edids etc. and passes settings to DRM (eventually) and there are other threads here that discuss the issue and progress so far (almost there ...).
Still running Raspbian Jessie or Stretch on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W, 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2) but Buster on the P4B's. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Tue Sep 03, 2019 4:46 pm

The kernel can now do it, but the firmware isn't passing it through automatically.

Edit /boot/cmdline.txt.
Add to the end (do NOT add any line breaks)

video=HDMI-A-1:[email protected],margin_left=48,margin_right=48,margin_top=64,margin_bottom=64
with the resolution modified to match whatever it is that your monitor wants, and the margins set appropriately.