ctday
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:43 pm

RPi 4 no video

Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:23 pm

This must have been asked a zillion times, but I can’t find the answer. I have two RPI 4s and an SD card with Raspbian Lite. Watching LEDs, both seem to boot, but neither shows anything on my HDMI monitor. So, what’s the answer? Using HDMI0.

FPV
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:04 am

Re: RPi 4 no video

Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:29 pm

I would use the other HDMI connector, just as a test.
Then I would use another SD card.

Are you using any video adapters? Any cables or connectors from ebay, aliexpress, etc?

I have two micro HDMI adapter cables, one is fine, the other does funny stuff on the screen.

pcmanbob
Posts: 10689
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: RPi 4 no video

Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:35 pm

I would suggest you enable SSH by adding a file called SSH while your SD card is in you desktop PC that you used to write the image, you may need to reflash your SD card if your pi has not been shutdown correctly.

Then with your pi connected to your network via a wired connection you can find the IP of the pi and log in using SSH from your desktop, then you can run some tests to see what your display is reporting to your pi and set the hdmi output up accordingly.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

ctday
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:43 pm

Re: RPi 4 no video

Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:41 pm

Turns out the RPi 4 was unable to talk to my old monitor. Maybe not enough resolution? Anyway, works fine with a new high-res monitor. Would’ve been helpful if the specs of the 4 included this limitation.

k8zfj
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:40 pm
Location: RI

Re: RPi 4 no video

Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:44 pm

I also have 2 pi4. Similar issue; on one gently reposition of the video cable and all is fine. On other, I'm about ready to take a hammer to it.

Using same cable, hdmi0, monitor for both units, not at same time, obviously
Randy

ProDigit
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:24 am

Re: RPi 4 no video

Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:11 am

You can lower the resolution to match your older monitor in /boot/config.txt

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... t/video.md

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 14402
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: RPi 4 no video

Wed Aug 28, 2019 5:18 am

ctday wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:41 pm
Turns out the RPi 4 was unable to talk to my old monitor. Maybe not enough resolution? Anyway, works fine with a new high-res monitor. Would’ve been helpful if the specs of the 4 included this limitation.
What's the resolution of your old monitor? So far, all I've used a Pi4B with is a 1920x1080, 1920x1200, and 1600x1200.

pcmanbob
Posts: 10689
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: RPi 4 no video

Wed Aug 28, 2019 8:10 am

My pi4 will work with my old Hanspree monitor at 1440X900 via an HDMI to DVI cable and an HDMI to micro HDMI adaptor ,
I did have to enable config_hdmi_boost to get a stable picture, but that's all.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

MisterEd
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:28 am
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: RPi 4 no video

Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:21 pm

ctday wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:41 pm
Turns out the RPi 4 was unable to talk to my old monitor. Maybe not enough resolution? Anyway, works fine with a new high-res monitor. Would’ve been helpful if the specs of the 4 included this limitation.
If you still want to use the old monitor then with the new monitor connected:
Change the resolution to a lower one like 1024 x 768 or 800 x 600.
Carefully test the new resolution to make sure it works
Shut down the Pi.
Connect the old monitor
Boot the Pi
If the resolution works then you can leave it as is or go through the same procedure again and try a new one.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Preferences > Screen Configuration
2. Configure > Screens < HDMI > Resolution
A list of possible resolutions will be shown
The current resolution will be marked: e.g. 1280 x 720
3. Select new resolution. For example: 1024 x 768
4. Configure > Apply
5a. If everything looks alright select OK button
5b. If you press the Cancel button or let this timeout the output will switch back to the old resolution.

Notes
1. The list of possible resolutions may change with different monitors
2. Not all resolutions will work correctly. You must carefully test new ones.

Return to “General discussion”