Dazzathedrummer

Alternative to Open Media Vault?

Tue Jul 30, 2019 12:30 pm

Hi,

I've been using OMV for maybe three years now. I have an RPi 3 hooked up to a 2TB external drive plugged into ethernet.

I've found it to be really unreliable from a view point of basic functionality. Whenever I try to connect to transfer files from or to the OMV Pi, I get all sorts of connection issues and have to re-boot OMV pretty much every time.
I've got it set up for NFS, AFP, FTP, Rsync - I've checked all the settings but most of the time it wont connect unless I reboot.
The latest issue is that it now thinks that all of the shares are read-only - a quick google of the problem reveals the usual confusion and head scratching that'll probably take me a week to get through.

On the other hand I've got a WD MyBook Live that I've had for seven years (it's fully backed up to CrashPlan!) that never gives me a problem.

Anyway....my question is....
On the basis that I use the OMV Pi for file NAS storage and for running Plex...is there an alternative that functions as reliably as a an off the shelf NAS that will also run Plex??

laurent

Re: Alternative to Open Media Vault?

Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:04 pm

Hi,
I've been using OMV on another SBC with an external hard drive, since a couple of years now, and I never encountered any reliability issues so far.
The SBC is a Rock64 (because it has an USB3 link and a real Ethernet Gbps controller at the time I took it), and the external drive is a WD 3,5" 4TB drive.
A important point with hard drive connected to a linux device is the filesystem used. You must absolutely avoid NTFS if you want performance and reliability. If your drive was NTFS formatted, try Ext4, XFS or whatever well supported.
Check also your µSD card and power supply, they're critical for system stability.

LTolledo

Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:38 pm

...just plain ol' reliable samba for me...., whether NTFS, EXT4, FAT32.... no problems once set properly....