sandytrisquirrelon

Re: What should I know about USB hubs beyond: a high quality is good!

Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:35 pm

Does anybody know where to get independent and “undertiteled techi  slang advices” on: What you should know about USB hubs?

As a complete newbee I was just googling for high quality USB hub to get some basic know how on the component to accomplish Raspi with, once it will be out. I reckon within 2 weeks I will me smart enough and have collected enough  background to purchase on my own via Conrad Electronics for e.g. and would not even need to go to a retailer’s shop to ask for advice.

This maybe has been a bit underestimating the situation as I just found out that a guy in a forum had searched the internet 3 weeks just to find the right USB hub (I guess if I do that for any component it will take me a 4x3 weeks to have everything I need not to mention the second step all the installations and the operation sys. install)
Anyway, what I found so far was a forum discussion on July 31st, 2007, 11:55 – unfortunately I did not manage to find something newer nor do I have a clue which journal or web-portal offers quality reviews (independent ones) on USB hubs.
http://terrywhite.com/techblog.....chives/235 USB hubs - Who makes the best one?
was a bit like ranging between heroization and demonizing of Belikin, though the critic had been focusing on 2 certain “quality” Belkin USB hubs:
Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-Port Hub Part # F5U237v1
Belkin 7 Port High Speed USB 2.0 Mobile Hub – F5U701-BLK

Here you can read a quite alerting statement: Phantom says: October 6, 2008 at 10:47 pm
•    Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-Port Hub Part # F5U237v1.
(…)Reviews on the product warned that the unit would get too hot and shut down when more than two devices were attached. (…)
•    Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-Port Hub Part # F5U237v1
(…) is junk and may damage your computer.(…)

Eventually,  as a positive alternative the USB GEAR is appearing.