Daryls.Produce
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:51 pm
Location: "Resume Speed," Georgia

Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:52 am

Hi Community:

When I do an

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
I get a message
E: Repository 'http://raspian.raspberrypi.org/raspian buster InRelease' changed its value from 'testing' to 'stable'

N: This must be accepted explicit before updates to this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details


So, I looked at teh apt-secure manpage.... and it may as well have been written in Latin: I do not understand it and don't know how to fix the problem of not being able to update.

Can somebody please instruct me how to fix this?

Thank you!
Daryl

Robbo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:55 am

Try "apt update" instead of "apt-get update". It will ask you the question if you want to update.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25699
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:56 am

Daryls.Produce wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:52 am
Hi Community:

When I do an

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
I get a message
E: Repository 'http://raspian.raspberrypi.org/raspian buster InRelease' changed its value from 'testing' to 'stable'

N: This must be accepted explicit before updates to this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details


So, I looked at teh apt-secure manpage.... and it may as well have been written in Latin: I do not understand it and don't know how to fix the problem of not being able to update.

Can somebody please instruct me how to fix this?

Thank you!
Daryl

That is not the full message, at the bottom it has a yes / no option, type yes and press enter key

Code: Select all

sudo apt update
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines are a ChromeBox & Intel CoreDuo Desktop

User avatar
Pie_with_Berries
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 am
Location: Czech Republic, Olomouc

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:57 am

Try this command:

Code: Select all

apt-get update --allow-releaseinfo-change
It worked for me. :)

Original Source:https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... N#p1497285 From:PeTerO
Don´t worry!! I´m Profesional! 8-)

Daryls.Produce
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:51 pm
Location: "Resume Speed," Georgia

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:20 pm

Thank you for your responses! Both suggestions worked!

Next time you are out here drop by the stand!

Daryl
Daryl's Rural Roadside Honor System Vegetable Stand and Occasional Dairy Produce

Daryls.Produce
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:51 pm
Location: "Resume Speed," Georgia

[SOLVED]: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:22 pm

This discussion is SOLVED.

trejan
Posts: 3064
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:32 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:56 am
That is not the full message, at the bottom it has a yes / no option, type yes and press enter key
They ran apt-get update which doesn't prompt you. apt update does. They're not the same command as the options differ depending on which one you run.
apt --help wrote:It provides the same functionality as the specialized APT tools, like apt-get and apt-cache, but enables options more suitable for interactive use by default.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25699
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Raspberry Pi Won't Update

Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:07 pm

trejan wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:32 pm
fruitoftheloom wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:56 am
That is not the full message, at the bottom it has a yes / no option, type yes and press enter key
They ran apt-get update which doesn't prompt you. apt update does. They're not the same command as the options differ depending on which one you run.
apt --help wrote:It provides the same functionality as the specialized APT tools, like apt-get and apt-cache, but enables options more suitable for interactive use by default.

Doh! that is why I listed the apt command in response. APT is better IMO and these days always use in Linux Debian or Debian based Distros............
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines are a ChromeBox & Intel CoreDuo Desktop

Return to “General discussion”