kozsar

Raspberry Pi 4 with dual touchscreen running dual chromium

Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:58 am

Hello Raspberry fans!
Thanks for reading...
I am a newbie here, so please accept my apologies if my questions contains some basic issues. I am trying to summarize everything here as good as possible.

We have a project where we would like to build a raspberry based POS terminal with having two touchscreen attached to it. As the new Rpi 4 supports dual screens this can have great effect to our plans what I want to make clear and I curious what do you think about it. Some basic standpoints:

- we build this project to have 2 separate RPIs as we need two touchscreens. These touchscreens are independent from each other (not mirrored).
- the devices and the application is web based so we are running chroium kiosk mode on the devices
- as we have two separate RPIs, the dual touchscreen and the window handling can't be an issue

My question:
as the new raspberry pi 4 supports dual screens what do you think is it possible to achieve the above goals with one device?
So:
- one raspberry pi 4
- two touchscreen connected to it (warning: not simple display we need touchscreen to both)
- on both screen chromium running in kios mode, autostarted etc.
- primary screen's touchscreen is always active, secondary screen's touchscreen not forced to be active always (just when needed some tapping from customer side)
- not mirroring needed, we need to display certain information when a certain activity happens on primary screen.

What I am thinking can cause issue:
- making work both touchscreen
- handle which window is active
- handle the touchscreens input
- handle the dependent activity in relation with primary / secondary screen and in relation that we are talking about a web application.
- handle kiosk mode run independently on both screen

What do you think guys? Can you help us with this field? Any help apppreciated.

Viljami123