slydog75

How Hard would this be?

Fri May 24, 2019 1:01 pm

Hello,

I"m new to the Pi and, while I studied a bit of programming back in college (VB, a bit of Java and JS) at this point I'm basically starting from scratch. I have a kit car that I've built and I need to install an Idle Air Control Valve. HOwever, I currently have no way to control it. What i need to do with the Pi is have it power up a relay whenever I first start the car, then close it after a minute or so. So it would need to sense that I've started the car (basically just sense the state of a switch), power up the relay, then power down the relay after a set time. What do I need to make this happen and would it be done with Python? How much Python would I need to learn to accomplish this?

Thanks.
Last edited by slydog75 on Fri May 24, 2019 3:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Aydan

Re: How Hard would this be?

Fri May 24, 2019 2:58 pm

A pi really is the wrong controller to use for this. An arduino would be the easier solution, if you want to go the controller route.
Also you could make the relay control engine temperature dependent.

As for doing this with a Pi, you'll probably boot the pi by activating the ignition. So you'll have to wait to sart the car until the Pi comes up (may take up to 30 seconds with no gui, depends on the random access times of your SD card, A1 cards improve this.)
Then you could have something as simple as a bash script polling for an input activated by the starter switch, activate the relay, wait for a minute, deactivate the relay, exit.
This of course can be done with any language.

I'd start this with a oneshot systemd unit.

You'll definitely need external circuitry to protect the Pi (or any other controller), the environment in a car is quite harsh.

Personally, I'd use a temperature controlled relay.
What works even better is a temperature controlled analog control of the valve, so it smoothly changes when the engine warms.

Regards
Aydan

slydog75