agus97v

Power fans to cool Rpo 3B+

Fri May 03, 2019 9:59 pm

So, here's my situation, where I live the ambient temperature can be a bit high in spring/summer (around 40°C and sometimes more) and I need my rpi to be in an enclosure and to remain cool. Sometimes it's under heavy load as I use it to stream movies or shows via upnp and also to control a 3d printer. I found an enclosure on thingiverse that resembles a computer case that can be seen in the game portal. What's good about this case is that it has space for three 30mm fans and one 40mm fan.
I have read in several places that's a bad idea to plug a fan to the rpi pins (at least directly). How could I power those fans?
I guess I need an extra power supply for them.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Pd: I'm not an expert in electronics but if I have the schematics I can solder components with tin

Icosagon

Re: Power fans to cool Rpo 3B+

Sat May 04, 2019 10:14 am

This is a very basic question. :)

First read whats written on the computer fans power requirement (most of the are 12v). Soldering isn't required for this. Just connect the positive wires of every fan and negative wires of the fan.(+ & - separately) and use any 12v DC adapter to power them. That's all. :lol:
If you want to control the speed of the fan you may have to use a motor driver and it is advanced.

HawaiianPi

Sat May 04, 2019 4:00 pm

agus97v wrote:
I have read in several places that's a bad idea to plug a fan to the rpi pins (at least directly). How could I power those fans?
If the case is well ventilated a large heatsink may be enough. The 3B+ has much better thermal management than the older 3B model.

I have most of my Pi 3B and 3B+ computers in generation 2 Flirc cases.
The Flirc aluminum alloy case acts as a huge heatsink without the noise, dust or additional power requirements of fans.