raymort

Retired old android smartphone's (HELP PLEASE)

Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:09 am

I had an epiphany in the middle of the night. I have a few phones that I could dismantle, then use some of the key components such as Camera the GPS and if it's possible the Bluetooth as well.

Has anyone tried to do this with the Raspberry PI 3 B+?. I am new to anything electronics and as I am retired and bored, I thought that I would try something that would really clear the cobwebs' and mobilise the brain cells. (I think I have some brain cells left at 68 on 19th this month)

So how do I go about this and are there any projects out there that I could tap into?

So once again help, please?.

Regards raymort

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: Retired old android smartphone's (HELP PLEASE)

Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:39 am

Whilst is a good aspiration, this is not for the faint hearted or the non-expert. In fact, even for experts, unless you have access to the datasheets for all the parts and equipment to unsolder and solder some really tiny stuff, almost impossible.

A better bet would be to flog the old phones on Ebay, and use the money to buy a bunch of electronic starter kits for the Pi. Loads of projects in back issues of the MagPi.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
"My grief counseller just died, luckily, he was so good, I didn't care."

Heater

Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:38 pm

raymort,

It's a nice idea but not really practical. I suspect the only part of a modern phone one could recycle is the vibrator motor. For fun you should open up one of your phones, strip it down, take a look inside. I think you will soon conclude you don't want to be trying to do anything with those parts. Then it trash it all.