hyanmmx

Just burned out two pi zero boards

Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:58 pm

Hi, friends:
I am actually not a beginner with raspberry pi, (I am using my rpi3b board as a NAS and installed Home Assistant), but I have very little knowledge about hardware and electronic circuit. I would like to know if there is any extra precautions I should take to power up pi zero board. Are there any differences in the power section circuit between the "big pi board" and pi zero board, cause the same USB cable works fine with my rpi 3b board but killed 2 of my pi zero boards :( :(

rpdom

Re: Just burned out two pi zero boards

Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:09 pm

Yes, there are some differences. The Pi Zero has a little less protection from bad supplies than the rest of the range.

But if your USB cable supplies the correct 5V and sufficient power (the Zero doesn't take a huge amount), you should be fine.

What is the rating and model of your USB supply?

Did you connect any other hardware to your Zero?

hippy

Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:26 pm

rpdom wrote:
Yes, there are some differences. The Pi Zero has a little less protection from bad supplies than the rest of the range.
I would say quite a lot of difference and far less protection; no polyfuse, no USB current limiting, no USB backfeed protection, Vusb connected directly to 5V input.
hyanmmx wrote:
the same USB cable works fine with my rpi 3b board but killed 2 of my pi zero boards :( :(
How exactly was your Pi zero connected and what to ?

If you run a Zero from a PSU adapter and also supply power through the USB data cable you can have serious problems and failures.

hyanmmx

Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:34 pm

rpdom wrote:

But if your USB cable supplies the correct 5V and sufficient power (the Zero doesn't take a huge amount), you should be fine.

What is the rating and model of your USB supply?

Did you connect any other hardware to your Zero?
On the USB cable plug, it reads:
Input: AC 110~240V, 50/60Hz<0.4A
Output: DC 5V 2.5A