DBloke

Re: What ones best?

Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:10 pm

feel free to move this topic if its in the wrong place.

As I have probably said a few times im a Linux noob. So I could do with some advice on choosing one that works best with the RaPi.

I used a distribution chooser site in the past, but i dont think the ones it suggested will work

I will be using my RaPi as a emulation machine for old consoles/computers so ideally it would have to have the emulators working for it (Mainly Speccy, C64 and BEEB) other main one is it must be easy to use, a windows style one would be perfect.

Prometheus

Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:34 pm

If you're new to it, you may be best off just going with whatever the "official" distro for the Raspberry Pi turns out to be, to get started. We don't know what that is yet, as they're still dealing with some legalities and suchlike, but no doubt we'll hear about it soon.

At the very least, we know (from the FAQ), that the ARM ports of Debian and Fedora are among those that will be supported, and both of these distros have facilities to allow you to search for particular packages (pre-bundled software that you install via a package manager, which is essentially the "app store" format many are now familiar with, but much older ). Of course, this includes searching for software compiled for ARM.

For example, Debian's package-search for the "armel" architecture reveals that FUSE (the Free Unix Spectrum Emulator) is available, so this will definitely be installable on your RPi. Fedora's ARM package-search reveals the same, too.

So, yeah, have a look around these two to see if the software you're after is available, as they'll both definitely work on the RPi. Whatever the official one is will likely have the same software available, too (as has been my experience with Linux and dealing with a couple of distros, myself).

I hope this helps a bit.

Benedict White

Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:44 pm