rasberry_user

Multiple touch screens in home automation, is it possible? [obsolete]

Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:00 pm

Hello all! I am new to rasberry and home automation. I have a question about multiple touch screens. I tried to find the topic in the forum but couldn't. I want to make a hom automation with multiple (best case 3 or 4) touch screens. On all of them I want to be able to access the system. (turn lights on and off, music an so on) It is still on planing phase. I just want to see if it is possible. So from a lot of reading the forum and youtube, it seems that it is difficult. I was thinking if it is not posible to use two or more displays in a system, maybe there could be one mqtt broker and a rasberry for every display, (the rasberry beeing a client). Or perhaps the system can use web server for control and the displays can log in and access application on the server... I am just spitbolling here. Does anyone have ideas? Or is it impossible. The system i have in mind may probably have arduinos for sensor control.
I appreciate any advice ! (also on a proper way of doing the system if I am missing something and you think you have a better idea :) )

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: Multiple touch screens in home automation

Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:00 pm

Raspberry Pi for every display is the way to go. Much easier and much cheaper in time. Then have another Pi as the server.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

aBUGSworstnightmare

Re: Multiple touch screens in home automation, is it posible?

Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:25 pm

Question: how would you want to connect a display to a Raspberry which is 10 to 20m (or more) away?

As said, use one Pi per display.

oldjake

Sun Nov 11, 2018 5:08 pm