mrharrison

'Data Science' relatable MSc project sought

Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:45 pm

Dear all.

I've been putting out the feelers lately to see if anyone had any ideas or leads towards a potential research project. I'm looking for something creative (or not) to base my Msc around. Pi ideas are always full of potential and a great community. I appreciate that it's a slightly scatter-gun approach, but i'm stuck and would prefer to base it around something that excites me rather than pull one of the off-the-shelf uni projects. Has anyone thoughts on potential for a project, a larger data set or similar that might warrant an interesting looking further at? I've spent a bit of time with the sensehat and thought that there is potential perhaps in that for data generation/analysis... maybe something like a risk assessor for driving based on live data collection from the device. Has that been done ?

My background is in education, but getting education related data to work with is going to be nigh on impossible.

Its been great to see the progress and recent builds for a Hadoop cluster based around the Pi. Not yet experienced enough to know if there might be further scope in those for me to work on, and not yet been able to try them out but an option perhaps.

anyway, thanks for any suggestions you might have, just thought that i would at least ask.
Rob

vinnieb

Re: 'Data Science' relatable MSc project sought

Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:21 pm

Definitely a good idea to pick a topic that motivates you, plus more sense of ownership.

I wonder if the driver data is done in the models that insurance companies use when offering reduced premiums if you use their black box in your car?