Uvishnu

looking to build an arcade box in a flight case

Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:15 am

I am looking to build an arcade box in a flight case for use in our campervan that would run off the 12v 2.5a USB socket so i can keep the batteries charged using solar power or easily set it up at home using a plug in power supply, I have lots of questions as i'm completely new to this wonderful little world i have stumbled across so any help would be appreciated in pointing me in the right direction.

My first question, is this possible ?

My second question, is it possible to use a 17inch(ish) laptop screen to run off the Raspberry PI andf how is this possible ?

I will be doing plenty of research before i start the little project but any pointers in the right direction for me to start reading would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and look forward to making my little project a reality.

:D

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: looking to build an arcade box in a flight case

Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:01 pm

Split off from your introduction post (don't ask questions in the introduction thread, that is not what it is for).

Note that USB is 5V!
Putting 12V on any USB ports is immediately deadly for all USB devices!

Uvishnu

Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:30 pm

Thank you for splitting my post, its greatly appreciated you have moved it to the correct location for me.

When i say 12v socket, what i mean is one of the USB charge sockets you can buy online for vehicles which has both 1.0 amp and 2.5amp usb connections.

The sort of thing you would charge phones/batteries from.

A 12v monitor / tv can easily be run from a cigarette lighter style socket and maplins used to sell al sorts of conversion leads for various types.