nickoala

Plug n Pi: USB-connect your phone to look up Raspberry Pi's IP address

Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:23 pm

Hello,

I have been teaching a Raspberry Pi course for adults for 3 years now. The classroom, already equipped with computers, is not dedicated to Pi. It is impractical to remove the monitor, keyboard, and mouse from the back of computers and re-plug them to Pi. Short of using console cables (too hard for beginners), the only way to use Pi is to SSH in. To SSH in, Pi have to join the school's WiFi (because we have no physical access to router. Even if we do, I don't want LAN cables crisscrossing the classroom). After joining WiFi, each Pi has to have its IP discovered. Only after that can we SSH in and start working.

All Pi have the same hostname (SD freshly burned) and unknown MAC addresses. To cut the story short, the process of discovering (and distinguishing) multiple IPs has troubled me for 3 years. I make do with a variety of methods over the years. None are satisfactory.

In fact, the inconvenience of joining WiFi and discovering IPs happens every time I use my Pi away from home. The problem is exacerbated in a group setting where each person has their own Pi. There are ways to cope; all leave much to be desired.

I have detailed the problem and open-sourced my solution below. It's called Plug n Pi:

https://github.com/nickoala/pnpi

In essence, USB-connect your phone to your Pi. Use an app to join WiFi for the Pi, and see its IP. You need a "USB server" installed on the Pi, and an app installed on an Android phone (no iOS, sorry).

I am using it every time I use my Pi away from home. It's now a breeze to join a WiFi hotspot and look up the Pi's IP. I hope you find it useful, too.

Cheers,
Nick

mattmiller

Re: Plug n Pi: USB-connect your phone to look up Raspberry Pi's IP address

Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:25 pm

Excellent work :)

Worked 1st time for me on a Pi3B+