JacquesSteventon

Windows Emulator

Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:40 pm

Hello,

I am new to the Pi and I am trying to find a windows emulator so I can use windows based applications with the facility to use USB 2.0 and ethernet. I own a weather website and was hoping to be able to use the Pi to act as a server. Unfortunately the software that I use to FTP to servers does not have a Linux version. So that brings me to the question I am looking for an easy to use Windows emulator or a way to use the software (Sandysoft Cumulus - http://sandaysoft.com/products/cumulus). What is the best software to use?

In advance thank you for your time.

Jacques

itimpi

Re: Windows Emulator

Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:50 am

There are products like Qemu that can emulate an x86 machine and thus theoretically run Windows. However in that mode you would at best get something like the performance of a 1990 type PC (in other words one capable of running Windows 3.1 or Windows 95) with limited RAM available. I suspect this might mean that such emulation is therefore impractical for what you are trying to achieve.

Linux has a wide variety of FTP clients and server packages. You should look into using one of them instead as being a far more practical way of working if you want to use the Pi.

Mezo

Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:26 am

Filezilla, used it on MS now use it on Linux, exact same thing & the best FTP by far.

Do yourself a flavour & forget MS.

Mezo.

Justin Webley

Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:56 pm

Dear Mezo,

Forgetting MS is not something people who deal with computers in the real world can afford to do with all the legacy software that is in use. Sure from a hobbiest point of view Linux is great but in no way does it replace windows in the workplace. So how about trying to help with the OP's question instead of spouting the age old linux fan boi chant of forget m$ and give some practicle help or say nothing at all.