Siamak

Raspbian Installation Script

Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am

Good morning all,

Just reading few days ago about the default user name in Raspberry pi which is "pi" with the "raspberry" as password.

Unfortunately I am not a programmer by nature - some people are born to be programmers- so what if we had, like UBUNTU installation, a script that would guide the user to specify a user-name and password from the very start of the Raspbian installation, not only will it look very professional it also adds to the security of the system.

I wish I knew how it worked I would have attempted to do so.

Cheers all.

Siamak

P.S. I am using a laptop with UBUNTU 16.04 LTS on it.

n67

Re: Raspbian Installation Script

Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:41 pm

I agree with you 100%.

There's a lot that says it should have been done like that (I've often argued exactly that), but the fact is that it wasn't - and it is too late to change it (in Raspbian).

A couple of things that could be done (in/to the Raspbian image), that would improve things greatly without breaking the general spirit of having a ready-to-go machine/OS (I.e., that would not require the user to go through the hassle of a regular install script in order to get up-and-running on the Pi):

1) Remove the default password. There is simply no need for it anymore and it is just silly to keep it in the system. Since the default setup it to boot directly into the desktop w/o any password prompt, there's no need to have any password set. If/when users want to be able to login the old-fashioned way (either on a virtual console or via SSH), they can setup a password in the usual way.

This also neatly solves the eternal-September problem of "Why doesn't SSH work?" (which generates legions of answers about creating the "ssh" file in the FAT32 partition). If there is no password for the default user, there is no need to disable SSH.