milhouse
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:26 pm

dom wrote:Hexxeh has updated rpi-update, so no need for the manual copy step afterwards.
It took a couple of attempts to get to the latest firmware... this starting from the first release of the new gpu-in-config.txt firmware (rpi-update'd then manually copied over to /boot).

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ sudo rpi-update
Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS
Performing self-update
Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS
Performing self-update
ARM/GPU split is now defined in /boot/config.txt using the gpu_mem option!
Downloading specific firmware revision (this will take a few minutes)
[email protected] ~ $ sudo rpi-update
Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS
Performing self-update
ARM/GPU split is now defined in /boot/config.txt using the gpu_mem option!
Updating firmware (this will take a few minutes)
Using HardFP libraries
If no errors appeared, your firmware was successfully updated
A reboot is needed to activate the new firmware
[email protected] ~ $ sudo rpi-update
Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS
Performing self-update
ARM/GPU split is now defined in /boot/config.txt using the gpu_mem option!
Updating firmware (this will take a few minutes)
Your firmware is already up to date
I'm now on:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ vcgencmd version
Oct 21 2012 19:21:59
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 345210 (release)
Many thanks Dom & Hexxeh!

Boezelman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:18 pm

dom wrote:Hexxeh has updated rpi-update, so no need for the manual copy step afterwards.
I did a few "updates" until I've got the message that the firmware was already up-to-date.
When I do sudo nano /boot/config.txt there is no GPU / MEM option in the file.

My Pi does show 512mb mem:

Code: Select all

KiB Mem:    448996 total,    54572 used,   394424 free,     8172 buffers
KiB Swap:   102396 total,        0 used,   102396 free,    26360 cached
I use my pi "headless" so 16mb gpu mem would be fine, any idea how I can set this manually?

itimpi
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:21 pm

Boezelman wrote: I did a few "updates" until I've got the message that the firmware was already up-to-date.
When I do sudo nano /boot/config.txt there is no GPU / MEM option in the file
That only appears when you add it. If it is omitted then the default for GPU is used (which I believe is 64MB for the 512MB model).

Boezelman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:41 pm

Well I thought this:

Code: Select all

-Hexxeh has updated rpi-update, so no need for the manual copy step afterwards.

-ARM/GPU split is now defined in /boot/config.txt using the gpu_mem option!
Would make life easy :D

User avatar
Dweeber
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:35 am
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact: Website

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:32 pm

Boezelman wrote:Well I thought this:

Code: Select all

-Hexxeh has updated rpi-update, so no need for the manual copy step afterwards.

-ARM/GPU split is now defined in /boot/config.txt using the gpu_mem option!
Would make life easy :D
Pretty sure the manual copy step being talked about is moving the elf files and possibly removing the old ones, not making any changes to the config.txt file itself.

That you still have to do manually.
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com

Boezelman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Thanks, I'll edit the files myself :D

milhouse
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:41 pm

Dweeber wrote:That you still have to do manually.
I imagine raspi-config will take care of gpu_mem settings in due course.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5478
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:52 pm

milhouse wrote:I imagine raspi-config will take care of gpu_mem settings in due course.
Yes

User avatar
RudeViper
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:51 am
Location: Micco, FL USA
Contact: ICQ Website Yahoo Messenger AOL

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:44 am

Please - plain English?

I have tried everything described here and only show 256 ram total no matter what the split is set for.

Could someone please just write the instructions step by step starting at step 1 and go in order for us rookies PLEASE!

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 12138
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:34 pm

RudeViper wrote:Please - plain English?

I have tried everything described here and only show 256 ram total no matter what the split is set for.

Could someone please just write the instructions step by step starting at step 1 and go in order for us rookies PLEASE!
Hmmm...

!. Wait probably about 2 weeks.

2. Run "sudo apt-get update"

3. Run "sudo apt-get upgrade"

4. Run "sudo raspi-config"
a. Select "upgrade raspi-config"
b. Select "memory split"
i. Select the memory split you want.

Hope that helps. Step 1 is a guess on my part. Could be shorter, might be longer. Unlikely to be longer than a month, from what I'm seeing from the guys doing the work. Patience is a virtue.

(System programming is above my pay grade...so I sit on the sidelines and cheer on those doing the work...and a very hearty thanks to everyone who has made the Pi functional and improving it in all ways. Thanks EVER SO MUCH, guys!)

carlvk
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:51 pm

W. H. Heydt wrote:
RudeViper wrote:Please - plain English?

I have tried everything described here and only show 256 ram total no matter what the split is set for.

Could someone please just write the instructions step by step starting at step 1 and go in order for us rookies PLEASE!
Hmmm...

!. Wait probably about 2 weeks.

2. Run "sudo apt-get update"

3. Run "sudo apt-get upgrade"

4. Run "sudo raspi-config"
a. Select "upgrade raspi-config"
b. Select "memory split"
i. Select the memory split you want.

Hope that helps. Step 1 is a guess on my part. Could be shorter, might be longer. Unlikely to be longer than a month, from what I'm seeing from the guys doing the work. Patience is a virtue.

(System programming is above my pay grade...so I sit on the sidelines and cheer on those doing the work...and a very hearty thanks to everyone who has made the Pi functional and improving it in all ways. Thanks EVER SO MUCH, guys!)
I did just that, and got this (below) does this mean it already works or am I misreading the "[ 0.000000] Memory: 496MB = 496MB total"
bit. The memory split part of rasp-config was certainly different.


[ 0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on. Total pag es: 125984
[ 0.000000] Kernel command line: dma.dmachans=0x7f35 bcm2708_fb.fbwidth=656 b cm2708_fb.fbheight=416 bcm2708.boardrev=0xf bcm2708.serial=0x94188932 smsc95xx.m acaddr=B8:27:EB:18:89:32 sdhci-bcm2708.emmc_clock_freq=100000000 vc_mem.mem_base =0x1f000000 vc_mem.mem_size=0x20000000 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=ttyAMA0,115 200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 eleva tor=deadline rootwait
[ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Memory: 496MB = 496MB total
[ 0.000000] Memory: 497640k/497640k available, 10264k reserved, 0K highmem
[ 0.000000] Virtual kernel memory layout:
[ 0.000000] vector : 0xffff0000 - 0xffff1000 ( 4 kB)
[ 0.000000] fixmap : 0xfff00000 - 0xfffe0000 ( 896 kB)
[ 0.000000] vmalloc : 0xdf800000 - 0xe8000000 ( 136 MB)
[ 0.000000] lowmem : 0xc0000000 - 0xdf000000 ( 496 MB)
[ 0.000000] modules : 0xbf000000 - 0xc0000000 ( 16 MB)
[ 0.000000] .text : 0xc0008000 - 0xc04c0e78 (4836 kB)
[ 0.000000] .init : 0xc04c1000 - 0xc04e0b10 ( 127 kB)
[ 0.000000] .data : 0xc04e2000 - 0xc050e1c0 ( 177 kB)
[ 0.000000] .bss : 0xc050e1e4 - 0xc05b5128 ( 668 kB)
[ 0.000000] NR_IRQS:330
[ 0.000000] sched_clock: 32 bits at 1000kHz, resolution 1000ns, wraps every 4
Carlvk
Pi killer

milhouse
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:08 pm

carlvk wrote:I did just that, and got this (below) does this mean it already works or am I misreading the "[ 0.000000] Memory: 496MB = 496MB total"
bit. The memory split part of rasp-config was certainly different.
496MB would confirm you are running with 512MB, and 16MB allocated to the GPU (so 496MB available to the ARM CPU).

User avatar
RudeViper
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:51 am
Location: Micco, FL USA
Contact: ICQ Website Yahoo Messenger AOL

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:13 pm

Thank you for the "explanation" and instructions. I now finally have it installed and running correctly.

Now on to some much BIGGER and IMPORTANT issues in a different area and post.

vrpi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:29 am

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM

Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:37 am

Hi,

I read the whole thread but I could not find a solution to my problem. I am using the latest firmware and kernel and everything is OK but I want to use Xenomai and the latest patch available for arm is for 3.2.21 kernel. After applying the patch and compiling the new kernel runs fine but only 256M of memory are detected/used.

Any ideas ?

Return to “General discussion”