BLL

Web server for RasPi 3?

Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:08 pm

Hi
I am looking for some advice. I have a RasPi model 3, running jessie. It is installed in my caravan (RV), where it acts as my internet router and also has a program I have written in lazarus/fpc (1.7/3.0.0), which monitors the health of my caravan systems.
I would like to communicate with this program remotely over the internet.
My first attempt was to implement a very simple webserver by using the weblaz package in lazarus. However, it won't install and pleas on the lazarus forum have not been answered, so it looks as though that way is dead.
The alternative, I suppose is to install a simple webserver on the RasPi. The requirements are trivial:

To webserver From webserver
Ac on Ac is on
Ac off Ac is off
Heating on Heating is on
Heating off Heating is off
Status Sends about 600 bytes of text

and that's it!
Could somebody advise me on the simplest solution please? I have never done anything with webservers before, so this is all new to me.
I hope to then produce an Android app to send/receive info to/from the RasPi.
Any help much appreciated.

Thanks

Brian

fruitoftheloom

Re: Web server for RasPi 3?

Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:14 pm

BLL wrote:
Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:08 pm
Hi
I am looking for some advice. I have a RasPi model 3, running jessie. It is installed in my caravan (RV), where it acts as my internet router and also has a program I have written in lazarus/fpc (1.7/3.0.0), which monitors the health of my caravan systems.
I would like to communicate with this program remotely over the internet.
My first attempt was to implement a very simple webserver by using the weblaz package in lazarus. However, it won't install and pleas on the lazarus forum have not been answered, so it looks as though that way is dead.
The alternative, I suppose is to install a simple webserver on the RasPi. The requirements are trivial:

To webserver From webserver
Ac on Ac is on
Ac off Ac is off
Heating on Heating is on