Eternyt

Some question of a newbie

Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:47 pm

Hi all,
as said in the title, I'm a complete newbie in the raspberry world. So, here are some questions that I'm still not able to answer after days of research.
1. I see in the main menu (top left corner) a "run" button immediately up the "shutdown" button. Is there a way to trigger it with a keyboard shortcut? Something like windows+r in Windows? I see that if I press windows and then windows+r works, but it's a bit tricky. Is it the only way?
2. Mounting problem. I followed many different tutorials on how to mount USB stick manually (via GUI all works fine), but I always encounter the same problem: I have no permission on the virtual folder where I mounted the drive (and yes, I put the right permission on the folder before mounting). So after mounting manually if I try to access the USB from the file manager, I encounter only errors and I'm not able to do anything. The only way is through CL using sudo.
3. After startx, if I want to shut down the GUI and keep only the CLI, what can I do for achieving this? No background, completely kill the x interface.
4. Without any drive insert, the raspberry shows a mysterious drive" 00000 (SETTINGS)" in the eject option and in the media directory. What is this?
5. Why, when automatically mounted, the USB virtual folder appear under /media/pi and not directly under /media? When I mount it manually I have to put under /media/pi or only under /media?
6. I recently put Google Assistant on my PI, following the official Google tutorial. But I've noticed that some commands that are available on my phone are not available in the PI version. Is normal?