User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10565
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:41 pm

Gary Littlemore wrote:Me too, Farnell UK? Where in the North West are you?
currently Runcorn
Last edited by RaTTuS on Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

0117blocky
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:03 am

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:59 pm

I have just received my 512mb Rpi which I ordered last Sunday. I have not powered it up yet. I have given it a visual inspection and I think quality control needs to be improved a bit.
Nothing major. But the rear pins on the Audio socket were bent over and nearly touching each other. (No indication on any of the packaging that this happened in transit.)
No sticky tape on LCD or camera headers. LAN socket looks like some minor rework, some burnt solder flux residue on one of the shield pins.
Not sure what the red dot on the FC logo signifies (Passed/Failed)

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10565
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:09 pm

0117blocky wrote:I have just received my 512mb Rpi which I ordered last Sunday. I have not powered it up yet. I have given it a visual inspection and I think quality control needs to be improved a bit.
Nothing major. But the rear pins on the Audio socket were bent over and nearly touching each other. (No indication on any of the packaging that this happened in transit.)
No sticky tape on LCD or camera headers. LAN socket looks like some minor rework, some burnt solder flux residue on one of the shield pins.
Not sure what the red dot on the FC logo signifies (Passed/Failed)
pictures .....
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

0117blocky
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:03 am

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:20 pm

Re Pictures,
I will have ago at taking some but I've just put the battery on charge. I have straightened the audio pins they could to with cropping.

One other thing is on the leaflet stating it's a 512mb Rpi it states "Faster, Double RAM, Same Price"
Why faster?

brainsys
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:16 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:28 pm

0117blocky wrote:One other thing is on the leaflet stating it's a 512mb Rpi it states "Faster, Double RAM, Same Price"
Why faster?
The original took 3 months to arrive here. The 512mb less than 24 hours. Much, much faster :lol:
Yours must be a Friday board. Mine looks OK and does appear to run LXDE/Midori faster too ...

milhouse
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:34 pm

0117blocky wrote:I have just received my 512mb Rpi which I ordered last Sunday. I have not powered it up yet. I have given it a visual inspection and I think quality control needs to be improved a bit.
Nothing major. But the rear pins on the Audio socket were bent over and nearly touching each other. (No indication on any of the packaging that this happened in transit.)
No sticky tape on LCD or camera headers. LAN socket looks like some minor rework, some burnt solder flux residue on one of the shield pins.
Not sure what the red dot on the FC logo signifies (Passed/Failed)
I've got the red dot on the two 512MB Pis I received on Monday (UK made, from CPC), both are working fine and have no obvious problems/rework so probably nothing to do with pass/fail.

I also noticed the lack of "sticky tape" on the camera/LCD headers which are both now empty - I'm guessing this is a cost saving from the 256MB which did have these, and the "sticky tape" is no longer necessary when inserting the relevant cables.

shuckle
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:49 am
Location: Finland

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:54 pm

My latest 256mb RPi also did not have the sticky tapes, so it happened before 512. also the package was much weaker than with the earlier models. All from farnell.

Joe Schmoe
Posts: 4277
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:05 pm

FWIW, since people seem to be posting their "order status saga" stories...

I ordered from Newark (US) on Monday (10/15) and it said they had 100 in stock at that time. So, I assumed that meant they'd ship right away. Silly me.

Alas, the confirming email that I got a day or two later said "Expected ship date: 10/30/2012".

Yes, I'm p***ed off, but I'll live. I've waited 9 months... I can wait another 3 weeks.
I'm just wondering (in that "Paradox of Choice" sort of way) if I should have ordered from MCM instead.
And some folks need to stop being fanboys and see the forest behind the trees.

(One of the best lines I've seen on this board lately)

0117blocky
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:03 am

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:08 pm

I'm typing this out on my 512mb(384/128 mem split) Rpi so all is well:)
Would agree the lack of sticky tape is more to do with cost cutting and it's nice to know other Pi's have red dots:) (or Pi pox)
The only thing which could cause concern is the audio socket pins if they are touching.
So its best to inspect board before powering it up.

Gary Littlemore
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:50 pm

I'm Runcorn too, where abouts?
RaTTuS wrote:
Gary Littlemore wrote:Me too, Farnell UK? Where in the North West are you?
currently Runcorn
3b+, 2b, b+, b, Zero & Zero-W

LenReinhart
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:32 pm

Ordered from Newark on Monday, received it around noon today.

User avatar
metaljay
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:26 am

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:41 pm

Ordered Sunday night at 10Pm, got it this morning.

Shame all my kit is at work :(

User avatar
fos
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:48 am
Location: Texas & Kansas, United States
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:04 pm

I just received my RPi 512K here in the Houston, TX area. I ordered it from Newark/Element 14 just a couple of days ago! Wow!

Thank you RPi Foundation, the UK manufacturing plant, and Newark.

Great work! Now I'm off to experiment....

fos

PS. Now, if I could just get my Gertboard before I have to return to work next month.
https://faroutscience.com

User avatar
wallarug
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:21 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:33 am

How do you get the new firmware?

I downloaded from the link but I don't know what to copy over? Is it just start.elf?

User avatar
wallarug
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:21 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:04 am

shuckle wrote:so what is /proc/cpuinfo now saying after you have the memory in use? 0005 still or the announced 0013 ?
What about the code: 000f?

I presume this is to do with the software.

User avatar
wallarug
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:21 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:14 am

Just noticed on my Rev2 512mb that if you touch the USB controller chip, it shorts out the USB circuit. Is this a flaw? Or is it just it should not be touched?

milhouse
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:16 am

wallarug wrote:
shuckle wrote:so what is /proc/cpuinfo now saying after you have the memory in use? 0005 still or the announced 0013 ?
What about the code: 000f?

I presume this is to do with the software.
000f (15) is the new 0005. Seems one of the factories (presumably Wales) had a problem with their OTP setup and initially programmed a bunch of the early 512MB devices with the revision code 0005, instead of 000f. The latest firmware now translates 0005 on a 512MB model into 000f when displaying /proc/cpuinfo. It's not a permanent change - if you go back to older firmware you see 0005 again.

Dom must have face palmed when he realised he had to fix this cock up in the firmware... :)

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 26825
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:47 am

wallarug wrote:Just noticed on my Rev2 512mb that if you touch the USB controller chip, it shorts out the USB circuit. Is this a flaw? Or is it just it should not be touched?
That shouldn't happen and sounds like a electrical fault (bad contact under the chip). Might need to RMA.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

User avatar
wallarug
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:21 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:50 am

jamesh wrote:
wallarug wrote:Just noticed on my Rev2 512mb that if you touch the USB controller chip, it shorts out the USB circuit. Is this a flaw? Or is it just it should not be touched?
That shouldn't happen and sounds like a electrical fault (bad contact under the chip). Might need to RMA.
What if this is a lot of RPi's? That could be a problem.

There is no R37 or R36 on the underside of the RPi. Could this be related?

User avatar
Burngate
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Berkshire UK Tralfamadore
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:33 am

R36 & R37 are only fitted on model A. When there's no USB chip, those resistors take the USB out of the SoC to the USB socket.

LenReinhart
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:43 am

I received my 512, downloaded the 384 split and did a reboot. It came up but when I ran top there was some strange looking numbers. I powered it down and back up and it halted while initializing. I tried again and it was the same. I moved the sd card to a pc and copied over an old split and it works fine, just no 512 memory. Do we have a fix today, or must I be patient.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 26825
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:05 am

wallarug wrote:
jamesh wrote:
wallarug wrote:Just noticed on my Rev2 512mb that if you touch the USB controller chip, it shorts out the USB circuit. Is this a flaw? Or is it just it should not be touched?
That shouldn't happen and sounds like a electrical fault (bad contact under the chip). Might need to RMA.
What if this is a lot of RPi's? That could be a problem.

There is no R37 or R36 on the underside of the RPi. Could this be related?
Well, if it was a lot of Raspi's it would be a problem. Just like is there is an asteroid about to hit the earth that would also be a problem.

But in this case, this is the only report, and there is no asteroid.

Most likely just a bad solder job on the BGA. It happens.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

User avatar
wallarug
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:21 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:46 am

jamesh wrote:
Most likely just a bad solder job on the BGA. It happens.
the cost to return it and get a new one is probably not worth it for me. I will live. It doesn't seem to affect the overall operation of the device except when it is touched. I guess I will just have NOT TOUCH! :D

LenReinhart
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:59 pm

I tried the 448 split and that worked fine.

LenReinhart
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi with 512mb RAM in the Wild and Element14...

Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:47 pm

It worked fine until I rebooted it, then it hangs just the same. At least the memory shown in the top command is correct though.

Return to “General discussion”