TheBug

whats all the lingo about?

Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:03 am

Hi,
I am new to RasburreyPi. However I have used Unix for many years. Starting back the the early 80's Microware OS9 was my preferred OS. However, now I find an entirely new lingo. Bash, smash, crash, or whatever. Is it so difficult to use original verbiage? Some lingo has remained unchanged; xwindows, grep, emacs, and so on. I have spend several hours on trying to figure out what MagPi is. I thought is was a Linux command. Then discovered it was a publication. OOH! Now I here new terms, python and etc. Is python a command? I have no clue. My programming experience is c, c++, Delphi, VHDL, PLD, Ruby, Windows API and Maple, programming interfaces and programming languages. I know Ruby; but have no clue what python is. I even made Ruby run under Delphi. I had to convert the Ruby header file to pascal. It worked! Never used visual basic or scripts. I seriously wish there was a way to define the context of terms to help an old fart timer quickly get up to speed. :D

Nr90

Re: whats all the lingo about?

Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:17 am

Maybe urbandictionary.com can help in some cases.
Their first result for python is:
1. python
Python is a powerful high-level interpreted language. Python's design is notably clean, elegant, and well thought through; it tends to attract the sort of programmers who find Perl grubby and exiguous.
#!/usr/bin/python
print "Hello World"

Obviously it will not return RPi specific info, but some general terms might be easily found there :)

JTrevorJ

Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:37 am

Please don't feed the trolls.

Nobody uses Unix "for many years" without using bash or knowing what Python is or without creating and using scrips.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:38 am

Guessing at Trolling.