Page 1 of 1

Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:34 am
by ric96
I am looking for someone who owns a compute module 3 and is willing to test android on that, nothing much, just boot the image and let me know if it boots up fine.
PS my image is an 8gig one so the io board will also be necessary.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:14 am
by texy
Arguably this thread needs to be move one of two places.
If I move this to Android then it will be automatically locked.
If I move it to Compute Module, then at least it'll get some attention....
I suggest you ask the same here : https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/android-rpi

Texy

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:25 am
by jamesh
Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:31 am
by ric96
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Here is the link http://geektillithertz.com/wordpress/in ... id-nougat/
The data partition is around 5.5gb, you can shrink it down to make the image fit. Boot partition is 512mb, system is 1024m and cache is another 512. So shrinking the data partition should work.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:42 am
by jamesh
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Here is the link http://geektillithertz.com/wordpress/in ... id-nougat/
The data partition is around 5.5gb, you can shrink it down to make the image fit. Boot partition is 512mb, system is 1024m and cache is another 512. So shrinking the data partition should work.
Don't have time to do that I'm afraid. Need to have a quick and easy flash/test process.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:44 am
by ric96
jamesh wrote:
ric96 wrote: Here is the link http://geektillithertz.com/wordpress/in ... id-nougat/
The data partition is around 5.5gb, you can shrink it down to make the image fit. Boot partition is 512mb, system is 1024m and cache is another 512. So shrinking the data partition should work.
Don't have time to do that I'm afraid. Need to have a quick and easy flash/test process.
I'll try to get you a 4gig image in maybe a few hours or so.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:17 pm
by SteveSpencer
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:00 pm
by 6by9
SteveSpencer wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o
You order up to 1084 of them from http://uk.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/rpi- ... dp/2675717, and a further 1269 from http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processor ... s/1232012/# That should keep you going for a while. (Numbers correct at the time of posting).

Perhaps James should have said "don't have a CM3L to hand" (and nor do I, only CM3 or CM1). There will be some in the office should there be a pressing need for one.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:27 pm
by W. H. Heydt
SteveSpencer wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o
I have a CM3L. It arrived early last week. What I don't have is a CM3 or a CMIO 3 board.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:23 am
by ric96
jamesh wrote:
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Here is the link http://geektillithertz.com/wordpress/in ... id-nougat/
The data partition is around 5.5gb, you can shrink it down to make the image fit. Boot partition is 512mb, system is 1024m and cache is another 512. So shrinking the data partition should work.
Don't have time to do that I'm afraid. Need to have a quick and easy flash/test process.
CM3 image link https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4VR-W ... sp=sharing
wasn't sure how much of the 4 gig is uable so made a 3gig image. tested it on my pi3.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:53 pm
by jamesh
SteveSpencer wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o
Android is not a supported OS, so whilst i could spend time digging up a CM3L then spending more time getting it all going, I'd be spending RPF time on something they are not really paying me for! So quick and easy would be preferable.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:20 pm
by ric96
jamesh wrote:
SteveSpencer wrote:
jamesh wrote:Was going to try this, but don't have a CM3L which is required as the CM3 doesn't have enough flash to run Android.
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o
Android is not a supported OS, so whilst i could spend time digging up a CM3L then spending more time getting it all going, I'd be spending RPF time on something they are not really paying me for! So quick and easy would be preferable.
Quick and easy https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4VR-W ... sp=sharing 3gb image.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:38 pm
by jamesh
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:
SteveSpencer wrote:
Wow! So if you don't have one, what chances for us mere mortals? :o
Android is not a supported OS, so whilst i could spend time digging up a CM3L then spending more time getting it all going, I'd be spending RPF time on something they are not really paying me for! So quick and easy would be preferable.
Quick and easy https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4VR-W ... sp=sharing 3gb image.
Thanks, will try and give it a go Monday when back in the office.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:32 am
by ric96
jamesh wrote:
Thanks, will try and give it a go Monday when back in the office.
Did you get a chance to try it?

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:38 am
by jamesh
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:
Thanks, will try and give it a go Monday when back in the office.
Did you get a chance to try it?
Not yet. Been rather busy on 'other things'...

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:53 am
by DougieLawson
jamesh wrote:
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:
Thanks, will try and give it a go Monday when back in the office.
Did you get a chance to try it?
Not yet. Been rather busy on 'other things'...
Hmmm, let me guess what that might have been.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:57 am
by ric96
DougieLawson wrote:
jamesh wrote:
Not yet. Been rather busy on 'other things'...
Hmmm, let me guess what that might have been.
I'd say something small in size and big on functionality.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:48 am
by ric96
jamesh wrote:
ric96 wrote:
jamesh wrote:
Thanks, will try and give it a go Monday when back in the office.
Did you get a chance to try it?
Not yet. Been rather busy on 'other things'...
sorry to bother you again, it's just not a lot of people have a cm3.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:28 am
by jamesh
Sorry, just not had time to look at this. Been very busy sorting out documentation along with other tasks.

I'll put it on my list of stuff to try.

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:53 am
by oldteen
Hello,

I know it's a long time ago, but could I test your android image for CM3 (download link is broken) ?

Thanks,
oldteen

Re: Anyone owns cm3

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:15 am
by ric96
oldteen wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:53 am
Hello,

I know it's a long time ago, but could I test your android image for CM3 (download link is broken) ?

Thanks,
oldteen
updated the link https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4VR-W ... sp=sharing