himesh

Making a NAS with R.Pi

Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:08 am

I'm a student in Sri Lanka,
I'm making a NAS as one of my projects, Can you guide it to me, I'm willing to install FreeNAS on the R.Pi. Will it work. If not can you please give me some information about some good NAS os like FreeNAS and a starting point to my project.

Thank you.
Lahiru Himesh from Sri Lanka - Student

darkside40

Re: Making a NAS with R.Pi

Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:14 pm

Using the Pi as a "real" NAS faces some problems.

First of all it only has fast ethernet. Second you can only connect storage via USB 2.0. HDD's are only connectable via an external hub.

But if you want to make some experiments, grab yourself a copy of Raspbian, install Samba on it and share a directory which is placed either on the SD or an attached Thumbdrive.
That would be a start, unfortunately you haven't told us what you really want to do with your NAS.

Btw. i dont think that there is a FreeNas Version for the Pi till now, althought some BSD distributions are already announced in the Wiki http://elinux.org/RPi_Distributions

himesh

Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:42 am

darkside40 wrote: That would be a start, unfortunately you haven't told us what you really want to do with your NAS.
As you asked I need to use this as a File Server, to download torrents, ftp server, and some other little things. I do no need much power from this server. That's why I choose R.Pi

darkside40

Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:08 am

The simple problem is that you wont be happy with the Transfer rates which the Pi is able to offer.

Reading through the forum people state that they experienc transfer rates of 200kb/s up to 2MB/s using FTP or Samba, which is in fact incredibly slow.
But there is no other way finding out than trying by yourself.

So grep yourself the Pi an active USB Hub to power an external HDD, pack Raspian onto the SDCard.