B.Goode
Posts: 4383
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

STICKY: Debian Jessie with PIXEL desktop i386 for PC and Mac

Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:32 am

You know those posts that crop up from time to time that ask "Can I run Raspbian on my PC?"

Well you still can't.

But this might come close enough for a lot of people: https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/pixel-pc-mac/

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9543
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:41 am

changed to sticky for now...

Nathalia21
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:35 am

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:32 am

Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?

B.Goode
Posts: 4383
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:41 am

Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?

Literally, you can't. But you can control the gpio pins on a 'remote' RPi from a script on your Mac, like this: https://mobile.twitter.com/ben_nuttall/ ... 1449791488

Links to: https://gist.github.com/bennuttall/5727 ... da1bdc813e

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 29692
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:13 pm

Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?
Run pigpiod on your Raspberry, run a pigpio (client) on your remote system. Joan added networking to that wonderful GPIO pin control system she's built.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17877
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:17 pm

Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?
Apart from the suggestions above, you don't. Use the Raspberry if you want GPIO.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

User avatar
mikerr
Posts: 2489
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:43 pm

Booted straight up on my mid 2009 Mac Book Pro

- had to toggle wifi off/on in the top bar to get it to scan though
(I've had the same happen on a pi3, so might be a pixel issue)
Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?
Ryanteck has rtk.gpio board available shortly to use Pi HATS etc on a PC / MAC
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ry ... escription
Android app - Raspi Card Imager - download and image SD cards - No PC required !

bensimmo
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:15 pm

That just means my MagPi is late and I've still not got my Zero for the renewed subscription.
Time to complain :-( well a quick query email :-)
Edit/They do respond quickly.

Plus I don't have DVD players in my computers.
Will have to do it the old fashioned way of sticking it on a pendrive :-)
Last edited by bensimmo on Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

spl23
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:02 am

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:44 pm

mikerr wrote:- had to toggle wifi off/on in the top bar to get it to scan though
(I've had the same happen on a pi3, so might be a pixel issue)
It only scans very intermittently if the wifi menu is closed - if you open the wifi menu, the frequency of scans significantly increases. Try just leaving the wi-fi menu open for 30 seconds or so.

User avatar
r3d4
Posts: 904
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:21 am
Location: ./

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:58 pm

B.Goode wrote:
Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?

Literally, you can't. But you can control the gpio pins on a 'remote' RPi from a script on your Mac, like....

:? speculatively,.. with a pi-zero and some kind of otg mode module/driver ?

User avatar
fruitoftheloom
Posts: 14658
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Bognor Regis UK

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:01 pm

r3d4 wrote:
B.Goode wrote:
Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?

Literally, you can't. But you can control the gpio pins on a 'remote' RPi from a script on your Mac, like....

:? speculatively,.. with a pi-zero and some kind of otg mode module/driver ?
Yep RPi 0 Gadget Mode: http://blog.gbaman.info/?p=791
My only "PC" is an Asus ChromeBit running ChromeOS, cloudcentric at its best !
Rockchip Quad-Core RK3288C SoC as used in ASUS Chromebook C201 & Chromebook Flip C100PA as well as the Tinker SBC

Pithagoros
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:16 pm

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:10 pm

Deleted, just noticed info already posted.
Last edited by Pithagoros on Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 29692
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:21 pm

Pithagoros wrote:If you want to control GPIO pins from a desktop PC then you need something like this: ...
pigpiod (already installed)
pigpio (already installed)

http://abyz.co.uk/rpi/pigpio/python.html
http://abyz.co.uk/rpi/pigpio/sif.html
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

User avatar
r3d4
Posts: 904
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:21 am
Location: ./

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:26 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote: Yep RPi 0 Gadget Mode: http://blog.gbaman.info/?p=791
Strangely the appears to be the cheaper option !
DougieLawson wrote:
Pithagoros wrote:If you want to control GPIO pins from a desktop PC then you need something like this: ...
pigpiod (already installed)
pigpio (already installed)

http://abyz.co.uk/rpi/pigpio/python.html
http://abyz.co.uk/rpi/pigpio/sif.html
&
https://github.com/RPi-Distro/python-gpiozero - "A simple interface to GPIO devices with Raspberry Pi"
remotegpio.md wrote: install GPIO Zero on a PC and create objects referencing GPIO pins on a Pi over the network.
Last edited by r3d4 on Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
scruss
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:15 pm

Nathalia21 wrote:Raspberry has pins. How i can connect sensors to my Mac if i run it in my Mac?
… or use any of the more traditional options like Arduino+Firmata, Flyfish FF32, ESP8266/ESP 32 over wifi, etc …
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

User avatar
fruitoftheloom
Posts: 14658
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Bognor Regis UK

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:24 pm

My only "PC" is an Asus ChromeBit running ChromeOS, cloudcentric at its best !
Rockchip Quad-Core RK3288C SoC as used in ASUS Chromebook C201 & Chromebook Flip C100PA as well as the Tinker SBC

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 29692
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:28 pm

I got this to boot in a Oracle VirtualBox first go, straight from the ISO. Couldn't get a USB stick created with Etcher to boot on my lappy, so I'm trying UUI to see if that one will work. If that doesn't work I'll try dd'ing the ISO to my USB stick on a real Raspberry.

https://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal ... -as-1-2-3/
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:19 pm

I have an 8 year old PC with a Gigabyte P35-DS3L motherboard, Intel Q6600 processor, NVIDIA GT640 graphics and 4GB RAM.

It boots to Pixel from USB okay, however there is no menu bar at the top (it flickers briefly when starting up, but then disappears). The rest of the desktop is fine e.g. right-click/preferences etc. I can change the menu position from top to bottom but makes no difference.

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4602
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:23 pm

rubikwizard wrote:I have an 8 year old PC with a Gigabyte P35-DS3L motherboard, Intel Q6600 processor, NVIDIA GT640 graphics and 4GB RAM.

It boots to Pixel from USB okay, however there is no menu bar at the top (it flickers briefly when starting up, but then disappears). The rest of the desktop is fine e.g. right-click/preferences etc. I can change the menu position from top to bottom but makes no difference.
Try removing the volumealsa plugin from the panel and restarting the panel.

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:29 pm

ShiftPlusOne wrote:Try removing the volumealsa plugin from the panel and restarting the panel.
Thanks. How would I do that?

ccpetersen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: Maricopa, AZ USA

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:52 pm

Alas no luck on an iMac. No boot option. Would running rEFInd help?

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 6 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.21f4

spl23
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:02 am

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:50 am

rubikwizard wrote:
ShiftPlusOne wrote:Try removing the volumealsa plugin from the panel and restarting the panel.
Thanks. How would I do that?
Open a terminal (Ctrl-Alt-T)

Launch Geany to open the lxpanel configuration file - geany ~/.config/lxpanel/LXDE-pi/panels/panel

Find the section which looks like

Code: Select all

Plugin {
  type=volumealsa
  Config {
  }
}
Delete it

Save and restart

spl23
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:02 am

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:51 am

ccpetersen wrote:Alas no luck on an iMac. No boot option. Would running rEFInd help?
It certainly won't hurt - worth a try. Please let us know if it does make a difference!

User avatar
mikerr
Posts: 2489
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:38 am

I am using rEfind on my 2009 MBP, and pixel ran OK (usb).
Not sure if it's required for USB boot but it's definitely required for me to boot off an SD card - that's why I use it

It stays at a black screen with blinking cursor at top left for 10-15 seconds on boot though (at first I thought it had failed there but it does continue)

[edit] imaged an SD card and that works fine in the MBP too (still with boot delay - but ok)
Last edited by mikerr on Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Android app - Raspi Card Imager - download and image SD cards - No PC required !

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: PIXEL FOR PC AND MAC

Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:01 am

spl23 wrote:
rubikwizard wrote:
ShiftPlusOne wrote:Try removing the volumealsa plugin from the panel and restarting the panel.
Thanks. How would I do that?
Open a terminal (Ctrl-Alt-T)

Launch Geany to open the lxpanel configuration file - geany ~/.config/lxpanel/LXDE-pi/panels/panel

Find the section which looks like

Code: Select all

Plugin {
  type=volumealsa
  Config {
  }
}
Delete it

Save and restart
Thank you. All sorted and working now, although I have no sound. Really fast and smooth! Would be great to see a HDD install-able version.

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: triphil and 40 guests