Mastiff

Is there such a thing as an Pi iPod emulator?

Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:48 pm

I have tried to search, but only found a bunch of projects that has placed the Pi into iPod cases. Which isn't at all what I'm looking for. I'm wondering if there is a way to make a Pi look like an iPod to a car. I have a Volvo 2013, and even with such a new car the maximum amount of tracks I can use on any USB storage media is 10 000. And I have around 120 000 tracks that I want to have in my car. Why? Well, both because I need an extra backup of my library somewhere, and I might as well use it for something, and because I have been doing carputers for ages (since the very early 2000's). So I'm not used to limits on tracks. I thought about the iFlash project, but there is a limit there on the number of tracks at around 50 000. And having three of those just isn't practical. So if there is some way to plug a Pi into the USB plug of my car and make the car think it's talking to an iPod that would be the perfect solution. Is there such a thing?

broe23

Re: Is there such a thing as an Pi iPod emulator?

Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:57 pm

It has nothing to do with the hardware. It has to do with the fact that the USB jack in your vehicle is only for reading audio files off of a storage device. If you want to use the pi as a server for music handling, you would need to add a touch screen and then figure out how to pipe the output through either Bluetooth or USB.
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good.

tweak42

Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:15 am

Very unlikely. The issue is your car system is a usb host and you connect usb devices to it to talk. All Pi's are also usb hosts, and you cannot connect host to host.