rbarrett
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:07 pm

Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:48 pm

Hello Pi Users
I am awaiting the delivery of my first Raspberry Pi 3 Starter Kit and note that it is necessary to get a keyboard, mouse and monitor . I understand they would be necessary however as I have an old Windows 8 laptop and a Galaxy tablet running Android it would be far cheaper for me to use these and connect them to my RP3 as they already have both monitor and keyboard and in the case of the PC. Later on I would obviously get keyboard, mouse and monitor for my RP3 however in my initial exploration I would like to keep the cost down. I would value any thoughts on this.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 23917
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:00 pm

rbarrett wrote:Hello Pi Users
I am awaiting the delivery of my first Raspberry Pi 3 Starter Kit and note that it is necessary to get a keyboard, mouse and monitor . I understand they would be necessary however as I have an old Windows 8 laptop and a Galaxy tablet running Android it would be far cheaper for me to use these and connect them to my RP3 as they already have both monitor and keyboard and in the case of the PC. Later on I would obviously get keyboard, mouse and monitor for my RP3 however in my initial exploration I would like to keep the cost down. I would value any thoughts on this.
Install Raspbian Jessie (without using the NOOBS installer) and SSH is available if you connect the RPi to you router via Ethernet Cable:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/remote-access
Rather than negativity think outside the box !
RPi 4B 4GB (SSD Boot) RaspiOS64 ARM64
Asus ChromeBox 3 Celeron is my other computer...

User avatar
Laurens-wuyts
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact: Website

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:05 pm

With a tablet, you can install an ssh app (there are many, out there) and connect over wifi/ethernet. ;)
With VNC, you could use the desktop on your tablet, but you'll have to install it on the raspberry pi.

Laurens

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 5958
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:35 pm

SSH (for terminal/CLI) or VNC (for GUI/desktop) will both work, but come with pretty severe limitations.

SSH is great if you only want to execute command line stuff (nothing beyond ASCII graphics).

While VNC will let you access the graphical desktop, it requires the X session to be sent over the network, which is not particularly fast on the Pi, so everything lags. Forget about anything that requires fast graphics updates (games, videos, etc.).

Do you have a TV with HDMI? If so, that's your monitor right there. For a keyboard and mouse, they're pretty cheap anyway, but you could also ask around (family, friends, school, work) or look at recycling shops that sell used equipment.
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

broe23
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Central IL
Contact: Website

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:02 am

VNC will not work on a Headless system. I use Putty on both of mine. If I need to use a keyboard, I just use a standard USB keyboard on the unit. You can also get the $30 USB cordless Keyboard and Mouse set that Logitech makes for using with it.

Using another device in place of a keyboard and mouse is going to do nothing but cause headaches.
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good.

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 5958
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:51 am

broe23 wrote:VNC will not work on a Headless system. I use Putty on both of mine. If I need to use a keyboard, I just use a standard USB keyboard on the unit. You can also get the $30 USB cordless Keyboard and Mouse set that Logitech makes for using with it.
I use a Logitech K400r wireless keyboard (which has a trackpad) and it cost me less than 18 bucks. Got it when it was on sale at Target ($17.99), but I have seen it lots of other places for less than $20. Last month Amazon had the newer K400 Plus version as a lighting deal for $18.99. Almost bought another one...
broe23 wrote:Using another device in place of a keyboard and mouse is going to do nothing but cause headaches.
Not really sure I understand that statement, especially after you just said you use PuTTY. PuTTY works pretty well for SSH from Windows. It's a bit sluggish compared to SSH from a Linux machine, but it's still very usable.
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

rbarrett
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Wed Jun 15, 2016 10:30 pm

Hello Raspberry Pi users
In the end I decided to just use a mouse, keyboard, and a small TV my neighbour has, by swapping it for some cookbooks for the TV. I had no trouble in loading Raspian using NOOBS. I not only used the version of NOOBS that came with my starter kit, but also downloaded the zip file, which has it, and installed it twice from an SD card. Everything worked well, except connection to the internet. Every time I tried to connect and put www.google.com into the address bar I kept on getting the message 'temporary failure in name resolution'. I switched to my mac and looked this up in google. There were some very technical descriptions of how this might be overcome, with some of the suggested remedies not working ,according to others in the discussions. Does anyone know of a simple, straight forward means by which this problem can be solved?

MarkTF
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:59 pm

Re: Using a PC and an Android Tablet

Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:25 am

broe23 wrote:VNC will not work on a Headless system.
I'm using VNC on my headless Pis.

Return to “General discussion”