Fght
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:26 pm

2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:11 am

Hey
After ive tried to configure my wifi for password nothing really connected other than with the network cable.
The good news is that ive a backup file

The problem is that i don't know how to restore it because the file is in use.

2nd problem
After doing what the guide told me, upon reboot the screen size has changed on my tv and now it's toi big to see the screen well, is there an easy methhod to restore that too?

Have a good week

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5160
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:50 am

Fght wrote:Hey
After ive tried to configure my wifi for password nothing really connected other than with the network cable.
The good news is that ive a backup file

The problem is that i don't know how to restore it because the file is in use.

2nd problem
After doing what the guide told me, upon reboot the screen size has changed on my tv and now it's toi big to see the screen well, is there an easy methhod to restore that too?

Have a good week
Hi,
two problems with your post ;)

1st issue - we don't know what file you want to restore.
2nd issue - we don't know what guide you are referring too.

Had a great weekend - hopefully the rest of the week will be the same.
Cheers.
Various male/female 40- and 26-way GPIO header for sale here ( IDEAL FOR YOUR PiZero ):
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=147682#p971555

User avatar
Cancelor
Posts: 757
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:05 am

I saw what you did there! :lol:
Can't find the thread you want? Try googling : YourSearchHere site:raspberrypi.org

Fght
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:26 pm

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:53 pm

1st
wpa_supplicant.conf

(it's locked)

2nd
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... i-raspbian

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21072
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:02 pm

Fght wrote:1st
wpa_supplicant.conf

(it's locked)

2nd
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... i-raspbian
If you are running Raspbian Jessie then see this blog:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/anothe ... ace-update
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

Fght
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:26 pm

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:12 pm

what should i look for...

i hope i will not need to install raspbian all over again.

i just want it to be like before the performed the guide instructions

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21072
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:30 pm

Fght wrote:what should i look for...

i hope i will not need to install raspbian all over again.

i just want it to be like before the performed the guide instructions
The guide was written for Raspbian Wheezy is is 2 years old.

As yet you have not stated what RPi Model or which Operating System installed, is it a secret ??
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

JimmyN
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:32 pm

You won't have to re-install Raspbian again.

If you made a backup according to that guide then use the following:

Code: Select all

sudo cp /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf.bak /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
That will replace your edited .conf file with the backup you made, and you still have the backup in case you need it again. That should return you to where you were before, if you didn't change anything else. You'll need to reboot or take the interface down then up, so it will read the file again.

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 4862
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:46 am

Fght wrote:1st
wpa_supplicant.conf

(it's locked)

2nd
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... i-raspbian
It's not locked, it is a system file that cannot be edited with "user" rights. You must open it as an administrator with sudo.

From the command prompt,
sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

From the GUI (desktop), open the terminal and enter,
gksu leafpad /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Although JimmyN has already told you how to restore your backup, so this is for future reference.
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

Fght
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:26 pm

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:36 pm

JimmyN wrote:You won't have to re-install Raspbian again.

If you made a backup according to that guide then use the following:

Code: Select all

sudo cp /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf.bak /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
That will replace your edited .conf file with the backup you made, and you still have the backup in case you need it again. That should return you to where you were before, if you didn't change anything else. You'll need to reboot or take the interface down then up, so it will read the file again.
i will try that but i think that it is more than the file.
the guide told me to make some kind of upgrade and i guess this system upgrade changed the screen resolution.

Fght
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:26 pm

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:05 pm

last try before installing raspbian again...

is it possible fix the problem at all without reinstalling?

:)

JimmyN
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:33 pm

I wouldn't re-install it. There is nothing in the guide or upgrade that would cause a problem with the screen resolution. You just need to get that straightened out.

I assume you have the wireless working now?

When you power the RPi it needs to be connected to the TV/Monitor, with it turned on. It will query it to determine screen settings. If you power the RPi first, then connect or power up the TV/Monitor the settings may not be correct, unless you have manually put them into config.txt.

If powering up the RPi last doesn't work, and resolution is wrong, you can put the settings in "config.txt"
Try these two commands

Code: Select all

/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m DMT


/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m CEA
For example this is what I get using a monitor, so it's CEA Group

Code: Select all

 [email protected] rpi5: ~
>$ /opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m CEA
Group CEA has 11 modes:
           mode 1: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive
           mode 2: 720x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:27MHz progressive
           mode 3: 720x480 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:27MHz progressive
           mode 4: 1280x720 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:74MHz progressive
           mode 5: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:74MHz interlaced
  (prefer) mode 16: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:148MHz progressive
           mode 17: 720x576 @ 50Hz 4:3, clock:27MHz progressive
           mode 18: 720x576 @ 50Hz 16:9, clock:27MHz progressive
           mode 19: 1280x720 @ 50Hz 16:9, clock:74MHz progressive
           mode 20: 1920x1080 @ 50Hz 16:9, clock:74MHz interlaced
           mode 31: 1920x1080 @ 50Hz 16:9, clock:148MHz progressive
You can see the preferred mode which is "mode 16" and that is correct for that monitor. So at the bottom of the "/boot/config.txt" file I would add

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16
If you're using CEA then it's group 1, if using DMA then it's group 2.

Here is the documentation page that explains everything.

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5160
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England

Re: 2 new problems in raspbian

Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:17 am

Fght wrote:last try before installing raspbian again...

is it possible fix the problem at all without reinstalling?

:)
So as explained above, the file isn't 'locked'. So what was the outcome of using sudo ?

Texy
Various male/female 40- and 26-way GPIO header for sale here ( IDEAL FOR YOUR PiZero ):
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=147682#p971555

Return to “General discussion”