mickjazz

Online Security

Sat May 14, 2016 12:05 pm

Hi Everyone,
please forgive what will seem like a very naive question to many of you, but I am a complete rookie with the Pi world.
I have just purchased a Raspberry Pi3, and for now I want to use it as a computer for online browsing/surfing. Could anyone advise me about online security - i.e. is it safe to do online purchases from websites and/or even online banking?! - or is there something I need to download etc?

Any advise will be gratefully received ;)

Many thanks
Mickjazz.

darkbibble

Re: Online Security

Sat May 14, 2016 3:22 pm

first thing to do to secure a pi is to change the root password, as it the same password on all pi's.
Q; How many Windows users does it take to fix a Linux problem??
A; Whats a Linux problem

mthomason

Sat May 14, 2016 3:26 pm

You're already safer on *Nix than on a Windows PC, due to security by obscurity - hackers tend to target the widest possible audience of victims. Not only that, but as an ARM device it isn't going to be executing any i386 malware code.

You're also safer because of the isolated user security (somewhat equivalent to Windows UAC which people, unfortunately, seem to love turning off to run everything as a local administrator rather than figuring out what the individual application needs to do - although I still place a lot of the blame on Windows software authors for most of that for insisting on writing things that need to write to places the end user has no place writing to... but, I digress!)

All of that said, don't go assuming you don't need antivirus whatsoever. Install something like ClamAV, although - and I'm sure I'll get some arguments here - you're probably safe not running anything in the background, just a scheduled check and a manual scan of anything you download.

Look at something like UFW as a firewall. Shutting down access to ports you're not expecting traffic on is never a bad idea.