Petingo

Pi 3 power supply & USB cable

Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:32 pm

Hello,
I'm a beginner and going to buy a Pi 3

The introduction says that it needs at least [email protected]
However, I get only a 1.5A cellphone charger… will it works fine?

Another question is that if I got a [email protected] adapter, will a general USB cable like my cellphone using works fine?

Any reply will be appreciate, thanks a lot 

GTR2Fan

Re: Pi 3 power supply & USB cable

Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:25 pm

Petingo wrote:The introduction says that it needs at least [email protected]
However, I get only a 1.5A cellphone charger… will it works fine?
Doubtful on two counts...

1/ 1.5A is obviously a long way short of 2.5A.
2/ A charger isn't necessarily designed to be a power supply.
Another question is that if I got a [email protected] adapter, will a general USB cable like my cellphone using works fine?
Maybe. You'll have to try it to find out. Ideally, you need a short USB cable specifically designed for fast charging or power delivery as opposed to a standard data cable.
Pi2B Mini-PC/Media Centre: ARM=1GHz (+3), Core=500MHz, v3d=500MHz, h264=333MHz, RAM=DDR2-1200 (+6/+4/+4+schmoo). Sandisk Ultra HC-I 32GB microSD card on '50=100' OCed slot (42MB/s read) running Raspbian/KODI16, Seagate 3.5" 1.5TB HDD mass storage.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:35 pm

It might work, 2.5A is for extreme conditions - USB hard drive, lots of USB peripherals attached. 1.5A may be enough. I'm using a Pi2 supply with no issues.

But official power supplies are relatively cheap...
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I own the world’s worst thesaurus. Not only is it awful, it’s awful."

ghodan

Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:40 pm

If i remember correctly allot of problems that people can have with a Pi are related to insufficient power supply.