bastibasti

Achievable kernel boot time with pi zero?

Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:13 pm

Hi

Iam thinking to use a pi as a really quick booting device - which has one task. boot - shoot a picture, shutdown.
For x86 - i could append an initramfs to the kernel, lets say a busybox and a small bash script that enables all hardware and does the job - but i am not experienced with the pi.

Do you think a pi could boot (powerup to kernel finish) faster than 2 seconds?

RaTTuS

Re: Achievable kernel boot time with pi zero?

Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:28 pm

using a RPI camera , and bare metal yes - but that will not work on a PI0
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

DougieLawson

Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:06 am

bastibasti wrote: Do you think a pi could boot (powerup to kernel finish) faster than 2 seconds?
The time taken from sudo shutdown -r now to the kernel booted and /sbin/init running is about twelve seconds. The time taken to get the services running is somewhat longer than that.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

jahboater

Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:34 pm

My Pi Zero (stock speed):-
[email protected]:~ $ systemd-analyze
Startup finished in 2.377s (kernel) + 17.066s (userspace) = 19.443s
Not far off two seconds.
"We are in the beginning of a mass extinction, and all you can talk
about is money and fairy tales of eternal economic growth."
- Greta Thunberg

GTR2Fan

Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:39 pm

For further reference, my Pi2B overclocked as far as it can go with complete stability running a fairly clean Raspbian Jessie...

Code: Select all

systemd-analyze
Startup finished in 2.057s (kernel) + 6.855s (userspace) = 8.913s