Page 1 of 1

need remote power switch

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:29 pm
by cochin007
Hi,
I see... in http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1655
....The hardware setup starts with a power supply with an IEC14 connector connected to the ....masterswitch for remote power cycling.
..........................

I want to put a switch which can be remotely be controlled thru net so that i can do rebooting in case if it gets stuck.
Can some one advice how to get something like that or make

Re: need remote power switch

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:19 pm
by LeroyZ84
i remember reading something about an watchdog on i2c or something,
can't remember where i found it, but it could se the system hung or somehow.

after a little googling, how to setup watchdog:
http://binerry.de/post/28263824530/rasp ... hdog-timer

Hope this helps.. it isn't a remote switch, it's more like "i froze? let's reboot"

Re: need remote power switch

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:18 am
by Andre-W
I think watchdog timer will fits best for this intent. You can define your maximum acceptable load/ram parameters or if you want to check something more than the default cases you can create own checks which will cause a reboot if they fail.

Of course there are some further solutions - for example an ip-controllable power socket (http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=9258T or Allnet ALL3075V2 for german based sockets), but such solutions are a bit expensive and nevertheless you need to perform a reboot-action manually.

So the watchdog timer automates your intent, is quite cheap and in my eyes more reliable than checking and rebooting manually.

Re: need remote power switch

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:51 pm
by cochin007
any way to make some switch which can be switched off and onn remotely ?
The idea is to keep it remotely like the off the shelf switch and restart if we need using IP.
What i mean is to modify some existing hardware and using it to be a switch instead of doing it from scratch.
The register option is good but in case the box gets stuck , we need to restart right when it doesnt respond at all?..

Re: need remote power switch

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:14 pm
by tech_monkey
Here you go more remote power switches than you can shake a stick at. http://www.digidave.co.uk/jshop/section ... 95518848d0

Re: need remote power switch

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:12 am
by Kuusiniemi
I been looking at powercycling the raspberry py remotely because I have memory leaks
in usb cams. Solution I addeded a standard mechanical timer clock switch ( 10 usd)
put that to switch off 23.30 every day.
Then added sudo power off
at 23.00 in crontab.

Now it turns off gracefully and the mechanical clock breaks power and restart
the raspberry pi by giving it power.

So it works. I still look for units to remotely do it in demand.