mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:57 pm

just downloaded noobs and put raspian on a new pi2 and don't see any gui to set up wifi like I had on my pi model b.

it's not there at all if I remember on the pi b it was menu>internet> and the interface was here what gives? --thanks

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:58 pm

and don't tell me to set it up with the command line please.

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:05 pm

I see something in noobs about wifi -- clicked on that and it says no wifi interfaces available.

It's the same god damn dongle I used in the PI B which works fine. ??

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:04 pm

mmkw43 wrote:I see something in noobs about wifi -- clicked on that and it says no wifi interfaces available.

It's the same god damn dongle I used in the PI B which works fine. ??
The older Raspian had wpa_gui the new version has an easier wireless GUI, and it should show your wireless access points, also with that kind of speech i think you need a chill pill.
:twisted:
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:08 pm

poured a glass of wine, I hear ya -- unless you mean that dialog in noobs about wifi, there isn't a gui in my raspian desktop or menu

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 23044
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:17 pm

mmkw43 wrote:poured a glass of wine, I hear ya -- unless you mean that dialog in noobs about wifi, there isn't a gui in my raspian desktop or menu
https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/anothe ... ace-update
Rather than negativity think outside the box !
RPi 4B 4GB (SSD Boot)..
Asus ChromeBox 3 Celeron is my other computer...

theHetman
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:18 pm

With the latest version of Raspian "Jessie", the WiFi configuration is an icon at the top right of the screen which has a picture of 2 computers on it. If you click that you should see your WiFi dongle. If Raspian can't find it then that list will be blank.

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:56 pm

I'll be damn.

I hate icons.

How about the letters W I F I ? --thanks

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:58 pm

wow -- the browser has picked up speed with this PI 2

mmkw43
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:01 pm

seriously -- a picture of an antenna, just an antenna would be better than 2 p c's -- I saw that and blew it off.

keep it simple stupid.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:17 pm

mmkw43 wrote:seriously -- a picture of an antenna, just an antenna would be better than 2 p c's -- I saw that and blew it off.

keep it simple stupid.
Yea the next version i believe will be "stupid proof"
It will be so stupid proof that an mmkw43 will be able to use it.
:twisted:
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

User avatar
davidcoton
Posts: 4879
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:37 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: PI2 -- no gui wifi config

Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:05 am

The trouble with making anything foolproof is that fools are so ingenious.
Signature retired

Return to “General discussion”