Pielevator

Elevator project

Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:51 pm

Hi guys,
I'm looking to start a crew to design a complete new elevator controller for the budget market.
I have 15 years experience in the elevator industry so have a lot of contacts. have worked on most control panels over the world. Would like to use fibre optic system

rotwang

Re: Elevator project

Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:33 pm

If you know enough to work on elevator controls, then one would assume you would know enough NOT to even think about using a raspberry pi in a safety critical system. Wonderful device it maybe, but rated for use in safety critical systems it isn't, nor is it ever likely to be.

stevech

Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:40 am

An elevator controller using an RPi for a University term project makes sense.

Certainly not one for commercial use.

Think of the liability insurance cost!

JF002

Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:35 pm

stevech wrote:Certainly not one for commercial use.
It depends on what the RaspberryPi would be used for...
If the rPi is used for driving actuator, reading sensor and garantee the safety of the elevator, you're right.
But if it is used as an HMI (Human Machine Interface), GUI,... which communicates with another safety-approved device, it totally makes sense.
My web site : https://codingfield.com

Heater

Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:49 pm

It still makes no sense. Getting stuck in a lift because the interface is busted is no fun.

The mere fact that a question about using a Pi in a safety critical controller application, such as a lift controller, hints that the questioner is not skilled enough to be tackling such a project.
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

DougieLawson

Thu Aug 13, 2015 7:02 pm

Is a lift controller safety critical? I don't think so. Buttons and relays can (and do) fail. The safety critical piece is the mechanics (as invented by Elisha Otis) that prevents the lift from moving in the shaft in the event of any failure.