nupiuser

Windows Util

Fri Jul 31, 2015 2:51 pm

Hate to be vague! I'm a brand new, 1st time user, and I have the PI 2 B+ board, and was extremely excited to get it to a point to use. I am a PC technician and no stranger to OSs, Boot sequences, OS images, hardware, networking, etc. But this problem with the win utility that extracts the image, and writes it to a SD card, gave a very strange dialog box. It informed me that the utility will NOT execute because it needs a higher lever???????? (HUH) I'm already doing things at the ADMINISTRATOR level, and I have no idea of what they are talking about. If for some reason you folks can't help directly with this problem, maybe someone here can suggest a different utility to get this image file written to a SD card, so I can get things going. THANKS IN ADVANCE for any, and all, help and pointers! :)

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Windows Util

Fri Jul 31, 2015 2:54 pm

which windows utility is that?

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Fri Jul 31, 2015 2:56 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum.
You fail to tell us which OS you've downloaded and which 'win utility' you are referring too?
For 'windows' world SD writer, one of the favourites is win32diskimager. This is ideal to write, for example, Raspbian, once unzipped, to an SD card as a '.img' file.
Texy
Various male/female 40- and 26-way GPIO header for sale here ( IDEAL FOR YOUR PiZero ):
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=147682#p971555

DougieLawson

Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:18 pm

If you're a new user you will have a much better experience if you use NOOBS. There's clear instructions for going from a download to a bootable NOOBS SDCard

https://www.raspberrypi.org/help/noobs-setup/
and
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... n/noobs.md

You don't need that SD formatter utility for a factory fresh SDCard (if it's less than 64GB), in the unlikely event that it needs re-formatting just stick it in your phone or tablet.